Another Refashion

While at the Goodwill Thrift Store looking for a fancy glass container to create a graduation gift with, I made a swift pass through the dress aisle.  This lovely bright red orange jumper caught my eye.  Note the size – XXL.  Nice quality thick jersey material and enough to repurpose into another summer dress.

2 3

 

A quick run down the the t-shirt aisle resulted in this colorful J. Crew shirt that matched the dress quite well.

1 4

 

While wearing the t-shirt, I measured where I wanted the “waist line” to fall.  Due to my pear shape, a high waist dress is more complimentary.  I cut one-inch below the ideal waist-line.

5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With my trusty seam ripper, I removed the top portion of the jumper from the skirt.

 

6

I ran a basting stitch around the top of the skirt, cinched it every so little and pinned it to the t-shirt, first matching the side seams.  I also folded the t-shirt in half to find the center-back in order to match the back seam of the skirt to the center-back of the t-shirt.

7

After carefully sewing the two pieces together, right sides facing each other, I took in the side seams under the arms and along the waist so it wasn’t to tent-like as it hung.

8

And voila!  New, summery and bright dress to wear for a summer day out and about!

9 10 11

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Philippa
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 10:28:54

    That would be very nice Elizabeth, tea together. One day, God willing.

  2. elizabethroosje
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 09:49:33

    what cheer colours! wish we were closer, then we could have tea together! God bless and keep you!!!

  3. orthodoxmum
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 07:24:22

    It’s super! And it matches your phone cover ;-)

  4. Philippa
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 17:26:11

    Thanks Meg. What I am is ‘cheap’! Both these items are name brand which often equates with $$. By doing this I get the best of both worlds.

  5. Mrs. Mutton
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 17:23:21

    You are *so* talented! I would never have thought to combine two thrift-store items!

  6. Mimi
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 16:11:58

    Oh, what a fabulous job! It looks wonderful!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

