Encouragement for the Day

“Do not be despondent when fighting against the incorporeal enemy,
but even in the midst of your afflictions and oppression praise the
Lord, Who has found you worthy to suffer for Him, by struggling
against the subtlety of the serpent, and to be wounded for Him at
every hour; for had you not lived piously, and endeavored to become
united to God, the enemy would not have attacked and tormented you.”

St. John of Kronstadt

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ian
    Jun 07, 2005 @ 04:38:29

    Very encouragin. Thank you.

    And I somewhat identify with Jim’s comment on it’s always “my fault that attackes/struggle comes”. It’s a blesing to be reminded this is not always the case.

  2. Mr. Hibbity Gibbity
    Jun 06, 2005 @ 23:07:39

    Why is it that I always forget this one?

    Thanks Philippa.

  3. olympiada
    Jun 06, 2005 @ 14:41:40

    Thank you for this. I am saddened this morning by an article called Free Love I read on Frederica.com. Quite saddened. Apparently possessiveness is a part of love and is supposed to be there. Oh gosh. I am so ignorant! Well at least I know what I don’t know. My English teacher said it is good to know what you don’t know. Well I don’t know anything about true ‘romantic’ or ‘marital’ love. Nothing. Nix. Nil.

  4. Philippa
    Jun 06, 2005 @ 13:07:10

    As Jim, I totally know what you mean. For the longest time I always thought that the nonstop troubles I have had in my life are due to God ‘punishing’ me for being bad. While reading the Life of Antony by St. Athanasius, I’ve come to realize that is sooooo not true. I’m going to have to post the section that helped me understand.

  5. Jim N.
    Jun 06, 2005 @ 11:40:34

    Thanks for this, P. Perhaps it’s my fundamentalist upbringing, but sometimes I think it’s my fault that attackes/struggle comes. And sometimes it is! But not always…

