Oh How I Love To Read!

I’ve just been tagged by Mimi, so here are my answers!

1. Total Number of Books I’ve owned:

As Mimi has said, I can’t even begin to imagine how many books I’ve read. Thousands! My favorite haunts are bookstores and libraries. I have 6 books sitting by my reading chair, of which I think 4 are in progress. I have 4 bookshelves 4 feet wide in my den, 6 shelves each, crammed with books.

2. Last Book I Bought:
“Women and the Priesthood” edited by Fr. Thomas Hopko

3. Last Book I Read:
“Athanasius: The Life of Antony and The Letter to Marcellinus”

4. Five Books That Mean A Lot To Me:
Wow! This is a really hard question. Only five? Hmmm…well let’s see:

“On the Incarnation” by St. Athanasius (Full text on-line)

“The Way of the Pilgrim” R. M. French (trans.)

“Little Women” by Louisa May Alcott (Full text on-line)

“The Giving Tree” by Shel Silverstein

“How Long O Lord” by D. A. Carson

5. People I Will Infect With This Meme

JamesMumbles, S-P over at Pithless Thoughts, and Olympiada.

Readers, feel free to leave your favorite books in the comments. I’m always looking to increase my booklist!

4 thoughts on “Oh How I Love To Read!

  1. I loved the Father Arseny book…have not read the second yet.

    Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen…very entertaining!

    I really enjoyed Taylor Caldwell novels back when I was younger and those could be found.

    A book by Keith Clark called _Being Sexual and Celibate_ really impacted my view of human sexuality, back in the dark ages before I got married. I’d still recommend it. It actually got me thinking that maybe RC’s weren’t all bad (this was loooong before anything Orthodox was remotely on the radar screen).

  2. “Father Arseny” and the follow-up, “Father Arseny: A Cloud of Witnesses.” I return to these over and over again.

    Also, “Anna Karenina” by Leo Tolstoy.

    And the entire Brother Cadfael series by Ellis Peters.

  3. I debated adding “The Way of the Pilgrim” I’d not read it until this past Lent, and of course, “Little Women” – I’ve been feeling the yen to read it again.

    TE – I’ve never read Jane Austen, she’s another one on my “I need to read” list.

    I can’t wait until retirement so I can read more books!

  4. ANYTHING by Jane Austen – all six of her novels. Dickens. Anne of Green Gables. St. John of Damascus “Three Treatises on the Divine Images.”

Comments are closed.