A poem

Because you are a kindred spirit –
come –
and stand beside me upon this familiar
hill – where the wind sweeps upward
from the valley – and touches us with its
cooling fragrance –
come –
and rest for
awhile – and watcht the brown grasses gently
nodding – and hear the whispered music of
the oak leaves –
here upon this hill – we
are close to the things eternal – you and I –
close to the essential things – the things of
the spirit – the unseen things –
here upon
this peaceful hill – the wind sings softly
in the gathering dusk – listen – listen and
let your troubled heart –
sing with the wind

Winston O. Abbott

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ian
    Jul 04, 2005 @ 07:32:02

    [I tried to post this on your “Timelessness of Friendship” post comments section, but I kept getting an error. 😦 ]

    How absolutely wonderful! I’m blessed to have a great friend from my uni days who, while we’re now separated by the Pacific, always remains a very close friend. A blessing indeed.

  2. olympiada
    Jul 03, 2005 @ 20:39:23

    This is beautiful. Thank you.

  3. Dawn
    Jul 03, 2005 @ 05:47:39

    very nice!

