Harry Potter Update – No Spoilers

Okay, so I’ve been reading this book for three…no, make that four…days now and I’m wondering when it’s going to pick up the pace a little bit. It seems to be dragging on and on and I’m only on Chapter 20, page 427. Don’t get me wrong – it’s a good story – but it hasn’t grabbed me to the extent that I don’t want to put it down.

The book does start to pull story lines together from the other books though. That’s nice.

I’ll keep you posted.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mimi
    Jul 21, 2005 @ 17:43:13

    I really struggled with five and didn’t like four much better, but I felt this one really picked up – I was hooked from the beginning.

    I think JK Rowling has found the joy of writing again!

  2. alana
    Jul 21, 2005 @ 13:17:24

    I thought it was slow at first, too.

    I agree with what Laura said: not on par with Tolkien and Lewis, but passable nonetheless.

  3. Laura
    Jul 21, 2005 @ 11:18:41

    Well…I had to put it down because I can’t exactly read the thing constantly (two kids running all over the place), which is likely why I didn’t sense the “slowness” of the plot. I finished it last night. I very much enjoyed it and am looking forward to the next one.

    I don’t think these stories are necessarily on par with Tolkien and Lewis…but I do like them!

  4. Dawn
    Jul 21, 2005 @ 06:16:59

    i agree with ian, i got it at the midnight party, and finished it by sat night, couldn’t put it down! but in the end, it left me witha bunch of questions! argh! i can’t possibly wait two more years to have them answered. i loved having a lot more of dumbledore in the book.

  5. Ian
    Jul 21, 2005 @ 02:11:27

    A few people have said that to me, but I found this one very gripping. I suppose it was because it was pulling together various storylines from the previous books which I greatly appreciated.

