Wordsmith

I subscribe to A Word A Day through Wordsmith.org. It’s been educational that’s for sure. Each week there is a different theme. This week’s theme is “miscellaneous.” I like that there is a pronunciation key and the word is used in a sentence. It’s a cool way to build your vocabulary so then when you go to the next party you can wow everyone by using the new word in a sentence.

Here is today’s word:

malversation (mal-vuhr-SAY-shuhn) noun

Corrupt behavior in public office.

[From Middle French malversation, from malverser (to embezzle), from Latin maleversari (to behave badly), from male (ill) + versari (to behave), from vertere (to turn). Ultimately from Indo-European root wer- (to turn or bend) that is also the source of words such as wring, weird, writhe, worth, revert, and universe.]

Today’s word in Visual Thesaurus: http://visualthesaurus.com/?w1=malversation

“[Ramon Magsaysay] called for inquiries into the alleged malversation
of the Motor Vehicles Users Charge and the reported overpricing of the
project.”
Rome C. Jorge; Senator Proposes Reforms; The Manila Times (Philippines);
Jul 22, 2005.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. magda
    Aug 26, 2005 @ 15:43:35

    I used to get my word-of-the-day from wordsmith, but I’ve switched to yourdictionary.com: today’s word is thelyphthoric (corruptive of the morals of women). They have more of an etymology and, in my opinion, niftier words. Recent words I’ve enjoyed include nychthemeron, materteral, and paronym.

    Another fun site for etymologies is etymonline.com, an Online Etymology Dictionary. And Etymologic! is a fun game.

    I will stop babbling now.

  2. Barnabas
    Aug 25, 2005 @ 17:40:37

    Words are indeed wonderful, love finding about about them. Thanks for sharing this.

  3. Jim N.
    Aug 25, 2005 @ 12:30:05

  4. Ian
    Aug 24, 2005 @ 22:52:33

    Me three! I love it.

    Words are wonderful.

  5. Mimi
    Aug 24, 2005 @ 17:53:41

    I get this too – I like the weekly email of comments.

