Fear induced insanity

It has been difficult to read about and hear the news flashes about the devastation Hurricane Katrina has wrought on Mississippi, Louisiana and Alabama. The son of friend’s of ours goes to school in New Orleans and, Glory to God, he called home to let them know he was safe and on his way to family in Savannah. Unfortunately, the home he was living in, where all his belongings were, had been looted.

How is it that people who have lost everything think it is okay to break open storefront windows and carry out whatever they want? Or break into flood damaged homes and steal whatever they want? I just cannot understand that. I’ve never suffered such loss of belongings before. I’ve suffered different loss. But I can’t imagine that I would think it was okay to steal anything I wanted from those who had just suffered the same losses I had. That just seems crazy.

Perhaps that is it. It is fear induced insanity. I just don’t know.

My heart is breaking for all those in the south. I cannot even begin to imagine what they are going through. My stomach hurts and I am worried and I don’t even live there! I want to jump in the car and drive down there to help in someway…any way. I’d probably be in the way. So I will stay put and do what I’ve been doing all day.

Pray.

Holy God, Holy Mighty, Holy Immortal, have mercy on us.
Holy God, Holy Mighty, Holy Immortal, have mercy on us.
Holy God, Holy Mighty, Holy Immortal, have mercy on us.
Now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

3 thoughts on “Fear induced insanity

  1. I just keep looking at all the devestation and thinking, “what are these people going to do?” I have a friend from high school who attends Tulane law school. She’s lived in NO for quite a while working a doing different things. I emailed my Mom on Sunday and asked her to get in touch with my friend’s mom to make sure she got out OK. She had to go to Houston to get a hotel room ahead of the storm. She made it out, but, I’m just afraid she will have nothing to go back to…

    If I had a way to get down there and help I would. Surely they could use someone to round up the kids and keep them occupied while the parents sort things out…

  2. I have never understood the rationale behind looting, either, but I refuse to dignify it by trying to identify its cause as fear. Fear usually produces a very different response. To my mind, the cause of looting is a false sense of injustice, coupled with an ignorance, or forgetfulness, that God dictates the circumstances under which we grow up, and it is our *reaction* to those circumstances that determines character.

    I can’t think of anyone more entitled to feel injustice than a serviceman’s widow, not only her spouse gone but also her livelihood and emotional support, and often the father of her children. Yet I doubt you were inspired to loot the homes of other people.

    I’m glad your friends’ son is OK — possessions can be replaced, but not his life. As for you, what you are doing, sitting at home, is at least as effective as anything anyone on the scene can do — probably more so. Don’t knock it! 😉

Comments are closed.