The Calm After The Storm – Where?!?!

Tonight’s email contained a message from our young college friend who is safely ensconced in Savannah, GA for the time being, after having been evacuated from New Orleans. His plans are to head back to New Orleans to see if he can help the Red Cross in anyway. If not, then he’ll head home. He’ll need to restock all his belongings as I have a feeling they are gone. It looks like this semester of college has gone the way of the broken levee around Lake Pontchatrain.

For most of the day at work I had the radio on, listening to weather reports for our area, hearing about the widespread devastation down south, the estimated number of deaths, and the cost to rebuild. Gas prices started soaring, making leaps of 20 or more cents per gallon over the course of a couple of hours. It cost me $41 to fill the gas tank. That’s insane! And I fear it will only get worse and we’ll never see reasonable prices again.

Listening to all of this and seeing all the pictures hasn’t done me much good except to increase my fears and anxieties. Apparently I am not the only one. He is far more eloquent than I could ever be, so what he said, just paste it here! I just have to shut it all off. Keep the radio off. Don’t read the newspaper. If only for a little while to regain my equilibrium. This may make me sound selfish, cold, and uncaring. Well, perhaps so. But it is necessary.

One thing I won’t and can’t stop doing. Pray. Hard. All the time. And do as St. Ignatius Brianchaninov wrote in The Arena as quoted by Minor Clergy.

Lord, have mercy on us all.

5 thoughts on “The Calm After The Storm – Where?!?!

  1. hmmmm…I’ve seen one picture of New Orleans, it was on a client’s TV at 4:00 this afternoon. I don’t read newspapers, I don’t watch TV, I listen to local newstalk radio to and from work. I just don’t get too excited about all this stuff. What else is new? People suffering? People being sinners?
    Government screwed up? Natural disasters? Even people helping out… The only thing that changes from day to day is the names of the people whether its one or a million of them…. Yep. Life is hard. Its a fallen world. That’s why we pray and give alms and trust in God.

  2. See . . . I’m where Raphael is at.

    Our hold on civilization and civility, in general, is tenuous at best.

    It just seems like a dangerous case of dominoes, in my opinion.

    Katrina hits. Well, now the Miss. National Guard has been deployed, but they’re already hurting because the majority of them are over in Iraq. Not that it matters, because all the good equipment (what little they had) is also over in Iraq.

    Oil prices spike. That’s the only area where we have docks/ports for oil supertankers. Bush opens up the strategic oil reserves, says it will take years to rebuild the gulf states . . .

    Um . . . where are we gonna get our oil?

    Why do I feel like America has been caught with its pants down around it’s ankles?

    If we have a bad winter, we’re screwed.

    What a perfect time for our enemies to strike – Al Qaeda or even China.

    We’re spreading ourselves entirely too thin. If we do make it through this, I think it will force us to question the effectiveness of some of our government institutions, i.e. The Pentagon, which stated that it wasn’t prepared for the magnitude of devestation in Katrina’s wake. What? Isn’t that one of their responsibilities; to act like a sort of think tank? Shouldn’t they have a plan of action for every contingency? While the foundation/root system of our government is sound, we need to restructure how agencies operate. We need to become quick, streamlined and effectual. We need to prune back some of the dead weight.

    And throughout it all, I keep recalling that passage in Revelation that talks about an earthquake so large that nothing like it has ever been experienced on Earth.

    I mean . . . a storm like Katrina and look at the devestation . . . can you imagine that kind of devestation on a global scale?

  3. I try not to think about it too much but what if, in the next few weeks…

    another Hurricane hit the east coast?
    a major earthquake ripped California in half?
    A major terrorist attack destroyed another city?

    I don’t mean to sound alarmist, but this is the kind of thing that changes the course of history: the conflation of several situations that place an incredible demand on a people resources.

    Just a thought.

    Peace,
    Raphael

  4. Amen. May the Lord have mercy on us all.

    I cannot comprehend it. I was so shocked to wake up this morning and see the situation.

Comments are closed.