Light Work

A college professor, an avowed Atheist, was teaching his class. He shocked several of his students when he flatly stated he was going to prove there was no God. Addressing the ceiling he shouted: “God, if you are real, then I want you to knock me off this platform. I’ll give you 15 minutes!”

The lecture room fell silent. You could have heard a pin fall. Ten minutes went by. Again he taunted God, saying, “Here I am, God. I’m still waiting.”

His count-down got down to the last couple of minutes when a marine just released from active duty and newly registered in the class walked up to the professor, hit him full force in the face, and sent him tumbling from his lofty platform. The professor was out cold!

At first, the students were shocked and babbled in confusion. The young marine calmly took a seat in the front row and sat silent. The class fell silent…waiting. Eventually, the professor came to and was badly shaken. He looked at the young marine in the front row. When he regained his senses and could speak, he asked: “What’s the matter with you? Why did you do that?”

“God is busy watching over my squad in Iraq,” said the marine. “He sent me to take care of his light work.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Pray for my young friend Adam, who was shipped out to Iraq yesterday with his Marine unit.

7 thoughts on “Light Work

  1. Olympiada, I’m not sure what you are asking me. Are you asking me about security? Or are you asking me about the theology of the Orthodox Church?

    If it is the latter, then yes I am secure in it because I know that I stand on the solid foundation of the Church that Christ built, the faith deposit that has been handed down ages upon ages. The faith God gave me was wet concrete for years. Since being in the Church, it has solidified under my feet.

    I know God loves me. I’ve no doubt of that anymore. God is helping me to love my neighbor. God is helping me to forgive others as He has forgiven me. For He will forgive me ONLY as I forgive others.

    I hope addressed the correct question. If I didn’t, give the question to me again, and I’ll try again.

    Thanks for reading my blog!

  2. Phillipa, You are pretty secure in your theology in the Orthodox Church, eh? And what exactly is that, if you don’t mind my asking.

  3. Olympiada, thanks for the offer of the site on theology but I’ll take a pass. I’m pretty secure in my theology in the Orthodox Church.

    As to the idea of winning over atheists, this is a joke. Nothing more. Nothing less. Just a friendly, humorous chuckle. We can’t be serious all the time.

  4. Hmmm…I am not quite so sure I agree with this point of view. I certainly don’t find it funny. I don’t think this is the way to win over atheists. In fact, I am quite sure it’s not…

    I have a recommendation of theology and a place to exercise your self with atheists, if you are interested. Let me know.

Comments are closed.