Football Games

Tonight the hubster and I traveled back to the high school from which our kids graduated, to listen to their marching band, The Liberty High School Grenadiers.

Both of our kids were in the band during their high school careers. Our son played the tenor drum in the bagpipe corps and our daughter played the French Horn. Both of them traveled to England with the band to play in a concert with Her Majesty’s Cold Stream Guards. The band is an amazing group of very talented students.

Their uniforms are modeled after the Guards I think. The officers and bagpipe corps drummers all wear real bear skin hats.

Tonight was the first home game for football season. The school distract was also dedicating the new football field which is now artifical turf. There is a new track as well, the kind that is rubbery (easier on the feet and shins). As usual the band looked great. The bagpipers had new jackets and new berets. It’s nothing short of miraculous that high school boys are willing to be in the corps because they wear real live kilts! There were fewer students in the band, however it was still 225 strong.

They sounded pretty good too! It was fun to hear the old favorites and the stomping of feet and general crowd pleasing sounds. (The obnoxious man sitting behind us making rude remarks about the opposing team’s band notwithstanding!)

What was odd though was looking at the kids and seeing how young they looked and remembering that when my kids were that age they looked so “old” to me. Funny how time changes perspective.

3 thoughts on “Football Games

  1. What was odd though was looking at the kids and seeing how young they looked and remembering that when my kids were that age they looked so “old” to me. Funny how time changes perspective.

    Indeed! So far, my new high schooler hasn’t attended one of the games yet – but Friday is the cross-town rivalry thing, so maybe?

    Kilts, eh? How cool is that?

  2. I could wish my kids had played in the high-school band, but for one thing: its director was (is) an atheist, who got really ugly with both my kids when they wouldn’t do extracurricular activities on Sundays, like make Super Bowl Subs (a fundraiser) for Chorus, or attend a rehearsal for a play. It wasn’t worth the hassle.

    So I’ve never been to a football game (the coaches were cut out of the same piece of cloth), or heard the marching band play, except in the local Christmas parade, and they were pretty bad then. OTOH, I’ve heard my niece’s and nephew’s high-school band, and they are *awesome* – at one point, I thought I was listening to a professional orchestra!

Comments are closed.