Playing Catch Up

Gentle Readers, I beg your forgiveness for the lack of posting these last few days. They have gotten away from me! I can’t believe my last post was Saturday! And I’m hard pressed to think of what I’ve been doing to keep me so busy. Well…let’s see….

Monday night I spoke at the ladies missionary circle at my old church. They were gracious enough to invite me, thinking I would have something worthwhile to listen to! Ha! They asked me to do a book review, so I chose the two books about Fr. Arseny. I made overhead slides to go along with the report. It went quite well. The audience of ladies was attentive and engaged, though they asked no questions. But during the 15 minute social time afterwards, more than a few asked me for the complete titles and ISBN’s so they might purchase them for their winter reading.

It was lovely to visit with these women. I’ve known many of them for nearly 19 or 20 years. They threw a baby shower for me when I was pregnant with my daughter! Now they are elderly and a few are quite feeble. I wonder how much longer we will be blessed with their presence. It was strange to be back in the church. It felt old and empty. I do not belong there anymore, in more than one sense of the word. But I was happy to have the feeling of gratefulness for the time spent there because those ladies and many others were instrumental in the growth of my faith. And that is not to be taken lightly. I love them very much and always will.

During Sunday School we took the students for a short walk down the street from the church to put brown lunch bags and a flyer in all the doors of the neighbors. The local food bank had run completely out of food and was turning hungry families away. Not being able to let that occur, my cohort in crime, uh teaching, took the matter in hand and thus the “putting feet to your faith” project moved into full swing. In our good efforts we made a boo-boo and neglected to get every parent’s permission to take the kids for a “walk” down the street. Though in our defense one of the dad’s was asked to come along and he said, “No thanks!” Well, we got into a little trouble with one of the parents who spoke to Father about it (not to us mind you) and rightly so. I promised Father we wouldn’t do it again and that I would go alone to collect whatever food will be put out this Sunday. But it’s a shame because the kids had a great time and were very well behaved for never having done something like this before. I must keep in mind that I’m the newbie on the block so to speak, in the church and have not earned trust yet. My co-teacher is well known and quite trustworthy…but parent’s have the right to over protect their children.

In the blog world

I am sorry to say Rub-A-Dub has taken a powder. Can’t say I blame him as the newest Rub-A-Dub member is due to be born any day now. May God bless the Rub-A-Dub family! I do hope we get to see a picture of the bambino once he/she enters this world.

Mere Comments has a very cool new discussion forum called Treaders. I’ve just finished reading the article that is featured for discussion and am formulating my comment. Whoop-dee-doo re: the comment.

Magda is a book hound just like me. I too am hard pressed to exit the library with no less than 5 to 7 books in tow. How I ever expect to be able to read that many in 2 weeks is beyond me!

Dear friends Mark and Susan have posted a fabulous picture of Susan’s pregnant belly! Glory to God all is going well.

And dear Elizabeth is surprised at the number of visitors to her site! I don’t know why she’s surprised…her blog is fun to read!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Oct 07, 2005 @ 12:27:56

    Gee, Philippa, I`m blushing 🙂
    I am so glad your talk went well….I couldn`t remember when you were due to do it !!
    I love both the Fr Arseny books.

  2. Mimi
    Oct 06, 2005 @ 19:34:53

    Oh my goodness, I’m sorry that didn’t go over well with the church – our Cub Scout troop does that every year, and it is my favorite activity of theirs.

    I’ve been wanting to tell you how awesome it sounds like your talk went on Father Arseny. Glory to God!

