Christ, Lawgiver and Redeemer of Israel

O Mighty Lord,
and leader of the house of Israël,
who appeared to Moses in the burning bush,
and on Sinai gave him the law,
come to redeem us with outstretched arm.

Exodus 3: 2-5 And the Angel of the LORD appeared to him in a flame of fire from the midst of a bush. So he looked, and behold, the bush was burning with fire, but the bush was not consumed. Then Moses said, “I will now turn aside and see this great sight, why the bush does not burn.” So when the LORD saw that he turned aside to look, God called to him from the midst of the bush and said, “Moses, Moses!” And he said, “Here I am.” Then He said, “Do not draw near this place. Take your sandals off your feet, for the place where you stand is holy ground.”

Micah 5:2 “But you, Bethlehem Ephrathah, though you are little among the thousands of Judah, yet out of you shall come forth to Me the One to be Ruler in Israel, whose goings forth are from of old, from everlasting.”

Matthew 2:6 ‘But you, Bethlehem, in the land of Judah, are not the least among the rulers of Judah; for out of you shall come a Ruler who will shepherd My people Israel.’

It’s always the “little things” that get you. Ya know what I mean? The last bite of meat that puts you over the edge of full. The last moment of the sunset that flashes brilliant magenta across the horizon. The last moment of a spring thunderstorm which leads to the fresh smell of washed air. The last word.

Yeah, the last word. That’s what “got” me tonight. I got an email from someone who is critical and difficult on a good day. I responded to the questions contained within the message hoping to foster peace. Of course, I know what I wrote and meant. Of course, it was not received that way so a response came to me that was that side of arrogant and lacking in grace. Yeah, my anger flared. I started to respond and the good thought of “walk away girl…walk away for a few…” flicked across my mind, so I did just that. Took a breather for 20 minutes. Sat back down. Wrote a toned down response…at least it started that way…but by the time I typed the last sentence…well…I whacked the “.” key pretty hard and then hit send. sigh

Never should have done that. Nope. Never should have. This person knows how to throw out a hook and this stupid fish bit it. And what was I saying this morning at coffee hour? Ummm…yeah… talking about the fast being more about what comes out of your mouth than what goes in. Ummm…yeah…I need to close that mouth. As I was reminded not that long ago – and rightly so – I’m not that important.

It’s the little things. Like a bush that’s burning but not being consumed. Like a carpenter’s son out of Nazareth. Where? Nazareth?!?!? Nothing good comes from there.

Yeah, it’s the little things. Ouch!

One thought on “Christ, Lawgiver and Redeemer of Israel

  1. Oh dear, I know exactly what you mean. I’m sorry your goat was gotten, and I know that “kick yourself” feeling of giving in. Trust me.

    Great thoughts on the second “O Antiphon”. I need to write mine.

Comments are closed.