Back At It & A Whole Lot Else

There’s nothing like getting back into the work week after having 4 days of rest and relaxation away from home. NOT!

When I go away, a portion of my time is spent thinking about what needs doing at home. Ha! Soooo, I usually start a list so I don’t forget and it helps to get those items off my mind. This past weekend was no different. The list grew to 13 items. Not too much. The hacking started yesterday afternoon.

After unpacking from our weekend away, three loads of laundry got done and the master bathroom, cleaned. Email was attended to, as was blogging (of course!) and various other neatening-up items. (Still need to run the vacuum.) Put the clothes away. Yada, yada, yada.

Work was good today and the in-bin was piled high to overflowing. After shedding the coat and grabbing a cup of tea, the boss and I got right down to it and so another “to-do” list started. At least that one I got done! Business is really picking up, so my days are getting packed. It will be a challenge to keep our collective heads above water but we shall prevail! We always do! We may be minus a few hairs from pulliing and tugging, and have a few extra wrinkles from frowning in concentration, but we’ll get there.

I was infuriated to find that our car which had a new battery installed last Tuesday was dead! Argh! I called the dealership, and with a tight voice told them, their diagnosis and repair failed. Thus they will find a Dodge Intrepid on their doorstep tomorrow when I get it towed. FIX IT RIGHT THIS TIME!

After work I mailed my Christmas cards off. I wanted to get them out to friends who do not have our new address. I also stopped at the water softener store and bought 8 bags of water softener crystals to dump into the unit. I now have to haul 8 bags (40 pounds each) from the trunk of the car to the basement and put them in. Unfornately no manly-man is around to assist due to business travel. Bummer. Flex those muscles!

You know, I hate this time of year, from Thanksgiving to Christmas. No, I’m not a Scrooge. It’s that it is an overwhelming time of year. Days are full of the necessities that need to get done. They don’t go away during a “holiday” season. The required events of the holiday’s get layer on top of everything else. It’s exhausting and depressing. Christmas afternoon all the way to New Year’s Day is always my favorite time because I can sit down and know that the pressing things are done and I don’t need to push to get them done for another year. Sigh.

Dinner awaits as does the various and sundry things that grace my list of “to-do’s.” Until another day! Ciao!

One thought on “Back At It & A Whole Lot Else

  1. You know, I hate this time of year, from Thanksgiving to Christmas. No, I’m not a Scrooge. It’s that it is an overwhelming time of year. Days are full of the necessities that need to get done.

    Me too. I have a particularly hard time with the obligation to be cheerful about all the trappings of the holiday. I’m constantly torn between the joy of the (secular) season and the penitential aspects of the religious holiday, and I feel like a humbug when the joy doesn’t win out.

Comments are closed.