"The Night: Nights In White Satin"

While driving around tonight, hopping from store to store doing my Christmas shopping, I had the radio on. As usually, it was tuned to the classic rock ‘n roll station and what was blaring out of those tinny speakers but Moody Blues “Nights in White Satin.”

This song transports me back to my high school days and those Friday night dances. They were usually held in the big open gathering place called “The Commons.” There usually was a live band who was crazy good. I think the lead singer’s name was Tommy Shankweiler, but I’m not entirely sure. And as the evening dance started to wrap up, they always played this song.

There we would be, dancing with our boyfriend or girlfriend, shirts drenched with sweat from the hard dancing we had done in a room that was packed with teenagers like sardines in a can.

I also think of the words “nights in white satin” when it is the night after a particularly heavy snowfall, the sky is inky dark, the stars sparkle, and the moon is full, casting its glow over the snow-covered ground. Nights in white satin.

Amazing times. Amazing memories. Funny how the music and lyrics can transport you to another time, another place, almost to another being.

Nights in white satin,
Never reaching the end,
Letters I’ve written,
Never meaning to send.

Beauty I’d always missed
With these eyes before,
Just what the truth is
I can’t say anymore.

‘Cause I love you,
Yes, I love you,
Oh, how, I love you.

Gazing at people,
Some hand in hand,
Just what I’m going thru
They can understand.

Some try to tell me
Thoughts they cannot defend,
Just what you want to be
You will be in the end,

And I love you,
Yes, I love you,
Oh, how, I love you.
Oh, how, I love you.

Nights in white satin,
Never reaching the end,
Letters I’ve written,
Never meaning to send.

Beauty I’d always missed
With these eyes before,
Just what the truth is
I can’t say anymore.

‘Cause I love you,
Yes, I love you,
Oh, how, I love you.
Oh, how, I love you.

‘Cause I love you,
Yes, I love you,
Oh, how, I love you.
Oh, how, I love you.

[ http://www.azlyrics.com ]

4 thoughts on “"The Night: Nights In White Satin"

Comments are closed.