Small Things & Fruit

Even more surprising is that Rabbi Marc Gellman and Monsignor Tom Hartman’s article A New Year’s message from The God Squad caused a “Hmmm…” to escape my lips. Largely because of something they had in the article that Mother Teresa said.

The fruit of Silence is Prayer
The fruit of Prayer is Faith
The fruit of Faith is Love
The fruit of Love is Service
The fruit of Service is Peace.

Many, many years ago I read those words in the newspaper and cut them out. I covered them up in scotch tape so they wouldn’t yellow with age and stuck them in my wallet where they continue to live. I often pull the tiny slip of paper out and read it several times. It is almost like a prayer to me.

Another quote cited by The God Squad was this, “Mother Teresa had a keen understanding of what God wants of us. ‘God does not want us to do great things,’ she said. ‘God wants us to do small things with great love.’”

I shall be cutting that quote out and wrapping it in scotch tape. It will live in my wallet with the other quote. Perhaps as I read them over and over I will eventually learn to apply what Mother Teresa lived so well.

May God grant you, my dear readers, a blessed 2006. May He teach us all to eat of the fruit and to do small things…with great Love.

With love, Philippa

2 thoughts on “Small Things & Fruit

  1. Re: doing little things with great love.
    St. Theophan the Recluse said much the same in The Spiritual Life and How to Be Attuned To It. If I’m feeling particularly productive I’ll look it up and post it. (Don’t count on it;-) Magazine takes much of my free evenings.

    -R-

Comments are closed.