Hammer & chisel

Tonight was the first night of my Historical Methods class at Muhlenberg College. I was so nervous my hands were literally trembling! Goodness gracious! At least I managed to calm down half way through the class.

We received our syllabus (only 3 pages – not bad) and the schedule is not too grueling. The class will primarily be focused on defining what history is, how to read it, how to research it, and how to write it. A 20 page research paper, on a topic of our choice, is due May 3. I’ll learn to write a paper in the proper Chicago Style with a correct bibliography, footers, etc. And I will learn how to do an annotated bibliography. I shall be asking the hubster for assistance with that one, never having done one before and not being sure what one is!

I’ll be spending a lot of time in the library reading and taking notes. I’m truly looking forward to that! Beside living in the church itself, the next place I’d like to take up residence is in the library! “Wonder if you could build a church with a connected library?” she muses.”Ha!

The professor seems like a likeable man. What is it with history professors not having any hair and wearing glasses? Must be the squinting at dusty book pages and running their hands through their hair in quiet desparation as they read some idiot’s rendition of some historical event. I dunno but it makes me seriously think about changing my major. My hair is thin enough thankyouverymuch…and my glasses are getting stronger bifocal lenses every year!!! YIKES! But I digress…

As I said the professor seemed likeable and humorous – always a plus. He has an “accent” that was tough to place. At first I thought, “Hmmm, British perhaps?” But then I realized not every word was accented, just only certain words with “a” in them. It took me a good 10 minutes to figure out what I thought was “historical patens” coming out of his mouth was really “historical patterns.” At that moment I realized, “He’s from Boston!”

And so the race begins again. I keep reminding myself, “Slow and steady wins the race.”

Now to think on a reserach topic. The idea of researching the start of monasticism in the early church might be an interesting topic. What say you, readers? Any other suggestions?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cyril
    Jan 23, 2006 @ 04:29:38

    Historians are bald because their students seem to have more time for blogs than they do for serious reflection and study. And yes you are right, partly, about the glasses: it is from reading too many texts in Renaissance script, but also from reading too many student papers.

  2. Mimi
    Jan 19, 2006 @ 21:08:05

    Sounds wonderful! I look forward to what you choose as well.

    Historical Patens – that’s some sort of religious artificat, no? Giggle.

  3. Laura
    Jan 19, 2006 @ 12:30:36

    THis sounds very exciting! I think your topic is a good one…annotated bibliographies sound worse than they are!

    I will be praying for you…

  4. Meg
    Jan 19, 2006 @ 10:18:31

    If I recall correctly, Muhlenberg College is Lutheran, so anything to do with Orthodox monasticism should prove interesting. 😉 Glad you have gone back to college!

  5. Ian
    Jan 19, 2006 @ 04:32:14

    Forgot to say: looks like a very nice college too!

  6. Ian
    Jan 19, 2006 @ 04:29:51

    Hooray!

    I’d love to live in a library. Fantastic places.

    The topic sounds very, very interesting. Make sure you put the paper up for us to read as well. Another topic may be the history of Orthodoxy in the US. Not sure how well-documented that is, though.

    Ian,
    also unaware of what manner of beast the “annotated bibliography” is. Good luck!

