Zacchaeus, Taxes, and Eleanor of Aquitaine

The end of the day is approaching and much has been accomplished. I know Sunday is supposed to be a day of rest and generally it is. But not today.

Of course church was wonderful. When is it not I ask you? Liturgy was beautiful and absorbing. We (the choir) sang well despite more than a couple of us with dry barking coughs punctuating the various Lord have mercy’s. Two of us were hoarse by the end. Father blessed new Liturgy books, a pix, and candles.

Father also had a great sermon. Of course it was about Zaccheus “the wee little man” since it is Zaccheus Sunday. Once again, I learned some new things. If you are unfamiliar with the story, this is how it goes:

Luke 19:2-9 Now behold, there was a man named Zacchaeus who was a chief tax collector, and he was rich. And he sought to see who Jesus was, but could not because of the crowd, for he was of short stature. So he ran ahead and climbed up into a sycamore tree to see Him, for He was going to pass that way. And when Jesus came to the place, He looked up and saw him, and said to him, “Zacchaeus, make haste and come down, for today I must stay at your house.” So he made haste and came down, and received Him joyfully. But when they saw it, they all complained, saying, “He has gone to be a guest with a man who is a sinner.” Then Zacchaeus stood and said to the Lord, “Look, Lord, I give half of my goods to the poor; and if I have taken anything from anyone by false accusation, I restore fourfold.” And Jesus said to him, “Today salvation has come to this house, because he also is a son of Abraham;
(NKJ)


Father told us that in the Bible, a tree represents the Tree of Life – the Cross of Christ. Since Zacchaeus was short, which Father said symbolized that he was spiritually stunted in growth, he needed to climb a tree to see Jesus. Zacchaeus went to the Cross and in faith believed in Jesus as by climbing up received the spiritual revelation of Christ. Then when Jesus called him down, the coming down represents Zacchaeus bringing the revelation of Christ with him and living it out. The story bears this out by St. Luke telling us that Zacchaeus recognized his sins, confessed them to Christ and Jesus said to all present that Zacchaeus was His child.

Whenever there is upward motion noted in the scriptures, it indicates revelation from God. The coming down from the revelation symbolizes the living out of the revelation. How cool is that?!?!? I’m telling you, there is always something new to learn. Always.

After coffee hour and choir rehearsal, I made my way home and spent the next 4 hours in front of the computer putting together the Sunday School Newsletter for February which I had forgotten to do and mail. That’s going out tomorrow.

This evening, after dinner, I spent a couple hours sorting through all the necessary paperwork for our taxes. I got everything organized; all the real estate tax info., all the W-2’s, all the medical receipts. Now I have to fill out our little organizer form, review it with the hubster, and mail it to the accountant.

Somewhere in between all this I need to get my sorry self to the library to start looking for sources for my history paper. I’ve changed my mind on the monasticism topic and am contemplating doing something on Eleanor of Aquitaine. She seems like a very interesting and powerful woman, one of whom I know very very little. It would be fun to get acquainted with her. And I loved Katherine Hepburn in the movie The Lion In Winter. That seems a fair enough reason to research the lady. No? The prof and I shall be chatting about it tomorrow evening at class.

Until then, dear readers, good-night and sleep well.

3 thoughts on “Zacchaeus, Taxes, and Eleanor of Aquitaine

  1. Oh my goodness, I love Eleanor of Aquitaine, if I had a daughter, I’d want to name her Eleanor.

    I have some books at home I can give you the info on – let me know…

  2. I never knew you were in the choir! Wow. And sounds like a beautiful service.

    And Eleanor of Aquitaine: make sure you post it for us. A fascinating and amazing lady.

  3. *Thank you* for posting your priest’s sermon. I will ask God to remind me of this the next time I complain about having to climb on a stepstool to get to the second shelf of my cabinets.

Comments are closed.