Professorial Generosity & Books Galore

This afternoon was spent at the college library searching the stacks for books pertinent to Eleanor of Aquitaine. At 2:00 I took a short break to trot across the campus and up three flights of stairs, backpack and all, to visit Dear Professor (who is feeling much better thankyouverymuchforyourprayers). He had a “book to offer” me he wrote in a recent email. Naturally it took 30 seconds for me to decide to call him upon receipt of said email and set up a time to stop by and pick it up. You won’t catch me napping for long! Ha!

I arrived at his door step, quite winded from the climb to the upper regions of the building where the history profs live, and plopped my sorry self into the chair next to the door trying to catch my breath in order to say hello. No such luck. I waved. He said hello back – bless him.

The book he offered to me (as a keeper – woot!) is The Stripping of the Altars by Eamon Duffy. I expressed my sincere appreciation, once I got my huffing-puffing under control and excitedly skipped my way back to the library. Of course, I spent only a brief moment flipping through it, though my great desire was to curl up in one of the library’s comfy chairs and read till dinner. Alas, no such time for that. The agenda was to find more books on Queen Eleanor and haul them home to see what interesting facts I could unearth.

While visiting Dear Professor, I told him I think my research paper is going to go in the direction of Queen Eleanor’s participation in the Second Crusade. The names St. Bernard of Clairvaux and Abbe Suger of St. Denis keep popping up and St. Bernard was the force behind the Crusade, if I understand the two sentences I blew through at the library. I’ll keep you posted on the progress.

While perusing the library shelves for material on the Crusades and the medieval church my eyes kept drifting to books about the Council of Florence, the Photian Schism, Orthodox Church history etc. I let my fingers graze the spines of the books, itching to take them home with me to read. But alas, not to be so, for that is a major distraction from the task at hand. I shall leave that reading for another time – summer perhaps if I don’t take any classes then.

My dearest and sincerest thanks to Dear Professor for his generosity on this fine day, should he be visiting the blog.

(Boy what a great day! A dozen white roses and a free book! Can’t get ANY better than that!!)

6 thoughts on “Professorial Generosity & Books Galore

  1. Thank you for the sign posts Cyril.

    Raymond of Antioch? Hmm…how interesting that his wife’s name was Philippa!

  2. Well, you shall find all sorts of stuff on both Suger, the abbot of the royal monastery of St Denis (who wrote both an account of the reconstruction of its abbey church–the first example we have of Gothic architecture in Europe–and as well a life of Louis VII’s father, Louis the Fat), and on Bernard of Clairvaux. There is some debate about the impetus to the crusade, and a great deal more that can be written about it. The fullest Chronicle of the crusade was written by Louis VII’s chaplain, a monk of St Denis, name Odo of Deuil (whose treatise should be in Muhl’s library), though it says preciously little about Eleanor. What I want to know is what you find out about Eleanor and her uncle, whose name I believe was Raymond of Antioch.

  3. Sounds as if you are a lot more disciplined than I ever was. Continued good luck as your pursue your degree. Glad that your dear hubsand was so thoughtful.

  4. I’m reading [i]The Stripping of the Altars[/i] at the moment…I think I can guarantee you’ll like it.

    What a wonderful professor: very kind-hearted.

    And when I had to buy my Linguistics textbooks for uni, I discovered the Christianity section was right beside it: I bought more Orthodox history books than Linguistic books! 😉

Comments are closed.