Week In Review

This past week was a very, very busy one. Here’s what I did.

Sunday: Taught Sunday School, came home & packed 4 days worth of clothes, drove to my parent’s house, after arriving sent my Dad to bed coughing & with a high fever, cared for my Mother who was post-lung surgery.

Monday: Sent Dad to the doctor where he was diagnosed with asthmatic bronchitis & the beginning stages of pneumonia, got Mother breakfast, cleaned their kitchen, helped Mother up the stairs (13 of them) gave Mother a sponge bath. Dad came home, gave him lunch, got him in bed with a healthy dose of tylenol, got Mother settled on the couch and picked up Dad’s medicine at the pharmacy. While they took naps, I read and started writing for my research paper. Made dinner. The visiting nurse came & we commiserated over Mom’s chest tube which was leaking. Called the University of Pennsylvania Hospital & made an appointment to see the surgeon the next day. We all collapsed into our respective nests early!

Tuesday: Dad was feeling marginally better after a couple doses of antibiotic and shots of his inhaler. Took Mother to the University of Pennsylvania Hospital where her chest tube was removed. Didn’t get home till 4:30 and promptly got her food which my dearest sister prepared (thank goodness she was there!). We all had an early dinner and collapsed into our respective nests early again.

Wednesday: Took Mother to see her kidney doctor who promptly put her on dieuretics to offload the 20 pounds of water weight that had caused her legs and body to swell like a blueberry. Brought her home, got her settled, sent Dad to the pharmacy to get her prescriptions filled, made lunch. Packed. Made sure all medication instructions sheets I typed up in Excel were clear so they could follow them. Drove home at 3:00 p.m. Spent the evening relaxing!

Thursday: Did laundry, caught up on house stuff, started writing my draft of my research paper.

Friday: Spent the entire day writing. Went to dinner with a girlfriend at Don Pueblos where we chatted about the Orthodox Church (she’s a catechumen). Came home and spent 2 and 1/2 hours on the phone with my girlfriend!

Saturday: Went to Liturgy for Soul Saturday. Spent an hour on the phone with another girlfriend then spent the day writing. During a break went and cut some daffodils from the front yard. They now reside on the coffee table in all of their yellow splendor! Went to Vespers. Spent the evening on the phone chatting with the hubster.

Whew! And that’s not even all the nitty-gritty details. But it’s enough.

6 thoughts on “Week In Review

  1. That is a **seriously** busy week !
    I am glad your parents are improving in health.
    Make sure you take care of yourself, too !!

  2. Wow! What a week you’ve had.

    Aak! I just saw you tagged me! I’ll let you know when I write it – which will probably be soon since I don’t have anything to write about either.

    Deb

Comments are closed.