Haz-Mat Team of the Fire Deparment

Today the hubster and I went to breakfast. A very nice treat and something we don’t do very often.

On the drive home, fire truck sirens started blaring. The truck wove its way down the street and stopped on the overpass over the major four lane highway that cuts from east to west in the valley. As we drove by at a snail’s pace, we saw the firemen jumping out of the truck and assisting their colleague into a yellow haz-mat suit and boots. Right in front of the truck about 100 feet was a blackened barrel that apparently had fallen off of something and rolled into the middle of the overpass. It was smoking and whatever spilled out of it was smoking on the highway.

I expressed my appreciation to the hubster for those fire fighters who risk their lives every day like this, in order to protect us from harm. Seeing that young man don protective gear to go investigate something that was smoking and contained an unknown substance really got to me.

Later as I went out to run errands, I sat in thick traffic caused by the same road being closed in both directions. By the time I went out there were multiple fire trucks and many, many red sirens spinning. It took over 3 hours to clear that barrel.

I’ll have to check the news tomorrow to see if they were able to find out what it contained.

To all men and women all over the world who risk their lives to protect my sorry one, please allow me to say

Thank You and May God Bless You!

UPDATE – April 15, 2006
Here is a link to the article about the black barrel mentioned above. It was a 30 gallon container of muriatic acid. And here is the photo published with the article.

5 thoughts on “Haz-Mat Team of the Fire Deparment

  1. Yes, muriatic acid is *nasty* stuff. That’s what they use to clean brickwork. Whenever I pass a police car or fire truck, or hear a siren, I say a prayer for them — glad to know others feel the same way!

  2. Amen.
    I imagine over there also you have the volunteers as well as the paid firies: my thanks to all of them — they truly do do a wonderful job and put their lives at risk to save ours. May God protect them.

Comments are closed.