Meeting Miss Meg

Today I had the joyous opportunity to meet Miss Meg. She and I are on a couple discussion groups together, we read one another’s blogs, and have exchanged more than a few emails. She and her husband are visiting their son who lives near where I live. When I found out she was coming down for a visit, we schemed a day to meet. That day was today!

It was so cool to meet her! What a great lady! I thoroughly enjoyed my time with her

I picked her up at her hotel and we traipsed off to Rice’s Market. Of course, the weather did not cooperate one little bit. It was a humid day, with low hanging dark grey clouds and don-cha know we got caught in the deluge! But we were not to be thwarted. We jumped in the car and headed off to Peddler’s Village where we enjoyed a delicious salad. Of course, the rain continued, so we jumped back into the car and returned to her hotel where she showed me some of her crosstitch and how to “park threads.” She does absolutely magnificent work! Just beautiful. I can’t wait to see the project she is working on now, completed. So intricate. It will look like a watercolor when she is done with it.

It was fun to find out that we share many of the same interests; crosstitch and hippie skirts being a couple. It was lovely to talk about the Church, our relationships with people in our churches, the faith in general, and prayer specifically.

I hope she will be returning soon to visit her son. I hope the weather will be nicer too, so that we can explore the open air market again. It was very special to make a new friend, a sister-in-Christ.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg
    Jun 28, 2006 @ 11:33:32

    And I had a blast! Wish I could meet you too, Mimi!

    Trip home was uneventful — now to get down to Business As Usual. But much as I enjoyed visiting both our son and Philippa, it’s also good to be home. 🙂

  2. Mimi
    Jun 27, 2006 @ 19:14:55

    godo = good, just so you know.

  3. Mimi
    Jun 26, 2006 @ 21:18:17

    Really? I’m so jealous, I’d love to meet BOTH of you amazing women!

    I’m glad you got to meet and that you had such a godo time.

  4. Ian
    Jun 25, 2006 @ 06:19:36

    Peddler’s Village looks wonderful: and Rice’s Market looks like a great place too.

    And wonderful to hear you had such a great time.

