Ice Cream Truck

When you were a child, did you have an ice cream truck patrol your neighborhood every evening? We did. Actually there were two of them; Mr. Softie and Morrone’s Waterice (a Philadelphia treat & no they aren’t like snowcones!)

Tonight an ice cream truck tripped through our neighborhood. The urge to jump up and run yelling into the house, “Can I have some money for ice cream?” nearly overwhelmed me. The laptop across my legs prevented me from doing so.

Darn.

Next time!

5 thoughts on “Ice Cream Truck

  1. We also had two: the Good Humor man and Bungalow Bars. For reasons I still don’t understand, my mother preferred Bungalow Bars. Both of them used jingle bells to announce their presence.

    These days it’s Mr. Softee, whose signature melody is one of those Scott Joplin ditties that was so popular 30 years ago. I cannot think of its title for the life of me.

  2. We never had them growing up, but they come through our neighborhood now and then – I am a sucker for them, I’ll usually buy.

  3. Oh yes…the “Ice Cream Man!” Ours was, and still is, a man. I used to save spare change so I would have money to by a banana fudgesicle…yummy!

    We’ve gotten ice cream a few times with the kids, but we hardly ever have “real” money around so it’s rare…they like to go to 7-11 and get slurpees too!

  4. Oh yes: I remember them well.

    Is Greensleeves as popular over there as the ice-cream truck tune as it is here?

Comments are closed.