Critical Thinking & More

Well, Saturday’s Critical Thinking final was a stinkin’ bear. I’m a whiner when it comes to classes, I’ll be the first to admit that. I worry about my grades. I think I did worse that I often did. But dear readers, I’m am not exaggerating one little bit when I say, the exam took me down…in spades.

It was 75 questions long, approximately 10 pages, and took me over two and one-half hours to complete without a final review. I was not the last one to finish either! We had to be able to identify 25 informal fallacies, write 10 arguments in simplified form then do Venn diagrams for each in order to identify their validity or invalidity and lastly we had to be able to identify a bunch of fallacous arguments by 10 different options. It was nuts and I was pissed by the end of it!

What made me angry about the exam, though, was not its length. What frosted me was the fact that the professor just took pages of the book and photocopied them, cut them apart, repositioned them on paper and photocopied it. She left out pages so some students (me being one), was missing a page, which I then had to use my book to get the questions. Her directions were ambiguous. And to top it off, one of the longest portions of the test was on a section we spent literally 10 minutes on at the end of the last class, to which she concluded “This is really easy. Just read the material.” Huh?

Since I don’t know how to figure out grading when quizzes are worth 40% of a grade and the two exams are worth 60% of the grade, I don’t have a clue how to estimate what my overall grade will be if I tank the exam. I was on target for a B or B+. I’m not sure now. I’ll keep you posted.

Thanks for all your support.

2 thoughts on “Critical Thinking & More

  1. I’m sorry it was such a bear…maybe you should share some of your concerns with this professors department head? It almost sounds like you got a raw deal in the information department…

  2. Well — as someone once pointed out to me, no employer is going to ask if you got a B in Critical Thinking, they just want to see the piece of paper with your name on it. 😉

    I’ll be interested to hear how you did, though.

Comments are closed.