Huw is looking mighty fine in his new coat and hat…

Huw is looking mighty fine in his new coat and hat. He made the hat too! Gosh a guy who cooks and can sew. A wonderment!

Huw, along with several others are hitting their favorite foods because the Fast of the Nativity begins November 15. As I asked on Huw’s blog, wassup wit dat?! His friend, Matt, posted a high octane egg nog recipe that looks incredibly delish but a tad expensive and rich for my taste. However, I still want to know what is up with choking down all the so called goodies one will not ingest during the Fast? It makes no sense to me. People are thinking, Okay, so I’m not going to get to eat any chocolate or BK burgers for the next 40 days. Thus, I shall stuff myself on those favorites until I’m nearly sick, since the sacrifice will be so long. The logic of that escapes me. But hey…that’s just me!

Somehow or other I stumbled across a new blog Glory to God for All Things. It is hosted by Fr. Stephen Freeman of Pontifications fame. Fr. Stephen has posted some wonderful thoughts.

His post for today is the Morning Prayer of the Elders of Optina. It is a beautiful prayer. One sentence in particular jumped out at me. It was In all unexpected occurrences, do not let me forget that all is sent down from Thee. It is challenging for me to remember that all is from God. When a difficult problem crops up in my life, my default thought is I am a bad person. God is punishing me because this or that happened. Of course, that is perfectly ridiculous thinking, but it is hard to drop that bag. God loves us. He is not interested in harming us but in drawing us to Himself. The issue, I think, is trusting that He does in fact love me and has my best interests in mind. As St. Paul wrote in1 Corinthians 13:12 For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I also am known.

On another note, Yurag the Illuminated shall be posting again. He says by Thanksgiving. Stay tuned!

Rejoice with Morning Coffee! Her husband is once again gainfully employed!

Lastly, I picked my classes for the Spring semester. They are World Geography, which sounds incredibly interesting. According to the write up on the class, we will be exploring how the topography of various countries contributed to their socio-economic structure.

My other class will satisfy an American History requirement. It is called Losers in History. The write up said this class will be looking at various historical events and examining how the US would look now if the losers had been the winners, i.e. if the south had won the war. I’m not a big American History buff, but this class intrigues me too. So stay tuned!!

5 thoughts on “Huw is looking mighty fine in his new coat and hat…

  1. No, it’s not a guy thing. I’m hoping to get to my favorite burger joint (not fast food, just a restaurant that makes really great burgers) one more time before the Fast starts.

    And I’m not necessarily a history buff either, but that “Loser” course is something I’d *love* to take! For example, if Germany had won WWI, Hitler need never have come to power. (You should see people’s jaws drop when I spring that one on them.)

  2. A very nice round-up. I guess I hadn’t thought about stuffing myself before the fast either. Maybe its a guy thing?

    I’ll have to check out Fr. Stephen’s blog- thanks for the link.

    You and yours are in my prayers.

Comments are closed.