Timeless Moments

This magnificent quilt was hand-wrot by Barnrat (my s-i-l) for the hubster and I. The pattern is called Court House Steps. The material that is the central one around which the rest was chosen is a random pattern of Viola’s (aka Johnny-Jump-Ups) my favorite flowers.

Barnrat names her quilts. Thus ours is entitled Timeless Moments taken from this poem:

“A people without history
Is not redeemed from time, for history is a pattern
Of timeless moments. So, while the light fails
On a winter’s afternoon, in a secluded chapel
History is now and England.”

~Thomas Stearns Eliot~
Four Quartets. Little Gidding V

Need I say, this beautiful, timeless gift humbles us. Thank you Barnrat! We love you!

12 thoughts on “Timeless Moments

  1. Fr. Greg, I don’t know how the patterns got their names. I do know some patterns are old and passed down from previous generations; like my quilt – Court House Steps. My sil has said that there are also “modern” patterns that quilters have created too.

    I’ll have to ask her. This is a good “history” question. I’ll also ask her to post the answer here in the comments.

  2. How do the patterns get their names? I imagine they are based on what they look like, but who decides-is their wide consensus or does everyone come up with his own term for a pattern?

  3. You are very welcome, Philippa, and thank you for the kind words. For those who expressed interest in quilting, I strongly urge you to get thee to a quilt shop near you! They all have classes for all skill levels, including rank beginners, and quilters are some of the most kind, sharing, and fun people I know. I only started quilting a year ago. I should also tell you that while I pieced the quilt, I had it quilted by a professional long-arm machine quilter, who does fabulous work. I am learning to hand quilt, which I love, so maybe Philippa will get a hand-quilted item sometime!

    Love ya!

  4. those are incredible! quilting is such a craft! I’m jealous of those with the vision and the patience. those are truly heirloom gifts.

Comments are closed.