Handel’s Messiah

Sunday evening the hubster, two friends, and I attended the Cathedral Choral Society of Bethlehem’s concert of Handel’s Messiah. The choir director from the hubster’s church was the guest Soprano. Now, I am not a classical music lover by any stretch of the imagination but I really appreciated some of the beautiful words in this piece of music. I hope you enjoy the ones I have selected to share.

Part I
Recitative (Bass): Thus saith the Lord of Hosts: Yet once a little while and I shall shake the heavens and the earth, the sea and the dry land; and I will shake all the nations and the desire of all nations shall come. The Lord who ye seek shall suddenly come to His temple, even the messenger of the covenant who ye delight in; Behold, He shall come, saith the Lord of Hosts.

Part II
Air (Soprano): How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things.

Part III
Air (Soprano): I know that my Redeemer liveth, and that He shall stand at the latter day upon the earth. And though worms destroy this body, yet in my flesh shall I see God. For now is Christ risen from the dead, the first-fruits of them that sleep.

Chorus: Since by man came death, by man came also the resurrection of the dead. For as in Adam all die, even so in Christ shall all be made alive.

Chorus: Worthy is the Lamb that was slain, and hath redeemed us to God by His blood, to receive power, and riches, and wisdom, and strength, and honor, and glory and blessing. Blessing and honor, glory and power, be unto Him that sitteth upon the throne, and unto the Lamb, for ever and ever. AMEN.

6 thoughts on “Handel’s Messiah

  1. I sang in the Messiah years ago while in College. I still have the score we sang from. That and “The Seven Last Words” are still among my favorites. Each year Billings singers gather to join in The Messiah to raise funds for the Ronald McDonald House. One of my frustrations is that it has never worked into my schedule.

  2. I never see a reference to “Messiah,” especially that last quote you noted, without thinking of the musical weekend my husband and I spent at Marburg when we were living in Germany. We were practicing “Messiah” for a public performance, and the musical weekend was basically an intensive rehearsal. Finally, at 4:00 p.m. Sunday, completely wiped out, the conductor said, “Alle Gewalt,” the German title for “Blessing and honor,” and we swung into it.

    Now, I had never sung this music before in my life, but I can read music, and held my own pretty well through the singing of this piece. Then we got to the final “Amen,” which is one long and glorious interweaving of voices called a “fugue.” How can you get lost on the word, “Amen”? I don’t know, but I did. Couldn’t find my place for the life of me. Finally said to myself, “These people know what they’re doing and you don’t, so shut up before you throw the whole thing off.”

    And listening to all those people around me, it came to me: This is what heaven is like. Everyone singing, “Amen,” let it be done, in response to the will of God. So I never see a reference to “Messiah,” or hear “Messiah,” without thinking that for about five minutes, I actually heard heaven.

Comments are closed.