Readin’, Ritin’, Rithmetic

And that is what I’ve been doing this past week thus the last of posting! Where DID the time go?

The history class has been quite interesting. We’ve been discussing the Anti-Federalist’s papers, analyzing what their issues were and why they held them. Our first “big” paper is due Friday. The question we are to answer is “If the Anti-Federalists had prevailed in 1787, what form and nature would the US national government have taken? And how viable was their alternative?” It has been challenging to address these questions. I confess to not being well read on the Articles of Confederation and our US Constitution. That kind of ‘history’ has never been a favorite. I’d rather analyze church history and the political machinations there. So I am slogging away.

The world geography class is interesting. Since it is a large class predominantly made up of traditional students, the few of us who are non-traditionals keep our mouth’s shut. I’ve got to start my research on Cuba.

I’ve been doing a lot of writing for work. Several feasilibity studies are underway and one report is gonna be a bear to finish up. But I shall get it done!

Naturally, the two books that are taking up most of my time are for my two classes. However, I’ve been reading Archimandrite Sophrony’s book We Shall See Him As He Is. What a wonderful, wonderful book; one that I know I shall read and re-read over and over. It is impossible to completely digest even one or two words let alone whole paragraphs and whole pages. Perhaps I shall post a few passages from the book from time to time. I am looking forward to reading the book on St. Silouan that Fr. Sophrony wrote. That is next on deck.

It’s hard to believe we are moving towards Lent. It feels like Nativity just ended. No! Wait! It DID just end! Wow!

I shall do my best to keep posting as the semester progresses. I appreciate your faithful readership!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mimi
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 19:08:37

    Very interesting sounding classes! I agree.

    I heard Sister Magdalen speak last fall, and she was a diciple (sp?) of Father Sophrony, it was fascinating.

  2. magda
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 17:44:56

    Your class-related posts are inspiring!

  3. Laura
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 13:12:20

    Your classes sound interesting!

    Enjoy!!

  4. DebD
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 11:44:27

    I’m not much of an American History fan but I do enjoy Geography.

    Yes, please do share with us some passages from We Shall See Him…

