Big Sky

Yesterday’s mail contained an addition to my 50 State Quarters collection thanks to Uncle Curmudge at Occasional Musings. Montana is the first 2007 commemorative coin released and the 41st in the collection.

Living on the East Coast of the U.S. it is easy to collect the coins minted in Philadelphia (the ones with a ‘P’ on the front). It is much more difficult to collect the coins minted in Denver (the ones with a ‘D’ on the front) unless you travel or live in the Western part of the country. The hubster does a lot of traveling, so I sift through his coins upon his return, savaging for ‘D’ minted coins that I do not have.

If you’ve ever been to Montana, it is quite understandable why it is called “Big Sky Country.” On a sunny day with a clear blue sky, all one needs do is look up. The sky is so huge! It is nothing short of breathtaking. If you’ve not been there, you need to go!

Won’t need to do that for Montana! Thank you my dear Uncle Curmudge!

2 thoughts on “Big Sky

  1. I didn’t realize you were such an ardant collector. Every time a new coin comes out I buy 8 of them. I even have 4 of the new 1.00 coins. A friend gets them for the card girls. If you like me to get some for you let me know.All I need is the books to house them.

Comments are closed.