Amazing Grace

Yesterday afternoon the hubster and I went to see a movie. It’s title: Amazing Grace.

For those who are not familiar with the hymn, written by John Newton, I recommend to you to be familiarized with it and more so, with its author. It is worth knowing. Mr. Newton was the master of slave ships. He traveled to Africa to gather “cargo” to take to Britain and the New World. Through a book of Thomas à Kempis Newton came to know the Lord.

William Wilberforce was a student of the faith of Newton’s and an evangelical Christian who fought against slavery and for reform of his beloved Britian.

The movie is excellent and I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is worth the time and money to see because it gives one a good deal to ponder for the remainder of Lent.

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound
That saved a wretch like me,
I once was lost, but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mimi
    Mar 13, 2007 @ 16:54:49

    I’ve heard good things about the movie, I hope to see it soon.

    And, I do love the hymn.

  2. jcurmudge
    Mar 13, 2007 @ 03:34:48

    I do intend to see this movie sometme this week although I don’t go often. I have VCR of Bill Moyer’s telling of this story several years ago with many of our outstanding black singers involved along with some backwoods churches. It to is Amazing.

