Books…Books…I love Books!

The Book Meme

Okay, so I am addicted to books There! I’ve admitted it. Is there a support group for book addicts? No? Good, because this is one addiction I don’t want to recover from. The other is chocolate!

1. Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback?
Always paperback. Never hardback if I can avoid it. They’re too expensive and big. The size is a hindrance to fitting in my purse to haul around with me where ever I go!

2. Amazon or brick and mortar?
Bricks/mortar. Primarily used book stores, but I’ve been known to go into a chain store and peruse the aisles for sale items. I work very hard not to pay full price for a book. The other place I buy a lot of textbooks is Half.com or ABEBooks. You can’t beat the prices!

3. Barnes & Noble or Borders?
Barnes and Noble is a must…after all, DS is employed by them and I catch you know what if I shop at that OTHER store.

4. Bookmark or dog-ear?
I do both. It depends on if anything at hand to shove in the page. If nothing, then the corner goes down.

5. Alphabetize by author or alphabetize by title or random?
Like Mimi, I categorize by general topic: history, mystery, religion, reference, etc.

6. Keep, throw away, or sell?
I keep all of my history and religion books. Only the super favorites of fiction/non-fiction are kept otherwise. I NEVER throw away a book. That is akin to sacrilege. I’ll donate it or sell it, but never, never, never throw it out.

7. Keep dust jacket or toss it?
I usually keep it until it is tattered and then toss it. Like Meg, it comes in handy as a book mark.

8. Read with dust jacket or remove it?
See above. Maybe these two questions should be a combo deal.

9. Short story or novel?
Novel novel novel!! I’m not a big fan of short stories. Though one year one of the kids gave me a book of short stories called The World’s Finest Mystery and Crime Stories. It was a really good collection. That is one of the rare occasions that happened.

10. Collection (short stories by same author) or anthology (short stories by different authors)?
See previous answer.

11. Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?
Harry Potter all the way. Though my DD loves Lemony Snicket (she’s 21!). She claims her reason for reading it is because it is necessary as a teacher to keep abreast of the popular kids’ books. Personally, I think that is a convenient excuse!

12. Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks?
Stop reading? When would that be? I guess when tired, though I try to make it at the end of a thought or paragraph. Doesn’t matter if it’s the end of a chapter or not.

13. “It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”?
Dark and stormy night!

14. Buy or Borrow?
Both but mostly borrow.

15. New or used?
Used all the time unless it is a dire emergency (like for a textbook).

16.Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse?
I rarely read those books suggested by reviews. Definitely recommendations. Sometimes browse, but mostly the former.

17. Tidy ending or cliffhanger?
Either one is fine. I life cliff hangers because I like to think about the book afterwards and concoct my own ending. It makes for good lunch chats with the girlfriends if we all read the same book.

18. Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading?
All three! My most favorite time to read is at 2:00 to 3:00 in the afternoon. I don’t know why. I guess because I use the book as a reward for having completed the work of the day. Gives me a chance to cool down with a little snack and a cup of tea before needing to get back up to prepare dinner and clean up.

19. Stand-alone or series?
Either way but primarily stand alone

20. Favorite series?
a) Katherine Kurtz’ Deryni Series. I’ve read them three or four times through.
b) Harry Potter (is that considered a series?)

21. Favorite children’s book?
a) Are You My Mother? By Dr. Seuss
b) Little Women By Louisa May Alcott
c) The Bobbsey Twins Series by Laura Lee Ho
pe

22. Favorite book of which nobody else has heard?
How Long O Lord by D. A. Carson. This is an excellent book about the Christian perspective of suffering. I highly recommend it.

23. Favorite books read last year?
It’s funny, but I don’t remember doing a whole lot of casual reading last year. Most of my reading has been required for classes. I must have read something though. Gosh!

24. Favorite books of all time?
a) Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
b) Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
c) Wuthering Heights by Emile Bronte
d) The Man in the Iron Mask by Alexandre Dumas
e) The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
f) A Tale of Two Cities by Dickens

25. Least favorite book you finished last year?
Hmmmm…I can’t seem to think of one!

26. What are you reading right now?
a) We Shall See Him As He Is by Fr. Sophrony Sakahrov
b) The Challenge to Liberty by Herbert Hoover (for history class)

27. What are you reading next?
a) Founding Brothers by Joseph J. Ellis
b) Saint Silouan by Fr. Sophrony
c) Queen of Scots by John Guy
d) Pendragon by Blake & Lloyd (I love anything about King Arthur!)

So what about you dear readers? Pick a number, any number, and leave the answer in the comments. Or better yet, steal the Meme and let me know!

4 thoughts on “Books…Books…I love Books!

  1. I loved your book list !

    Blogger wouldn`t let me post a comment for a while, for some reason….

  2. i like finding used books that have notes or slips of paper stuck in them.

    sometimes i think it could be interesting to take some of those pieces of paper and frame them.

    sometimes a note in the margins is okay, but then i wonder if someone were to read one of these books will they think that i put those notes there.

  3. I read lots and lots of children’s books. I do it because it’s my job and because they are some of the best books I’ve ever read.

    Also, as a school librarian, I’ve had to throw away books from time to time. I always try to give them away first, but if no one wants them for free, they’re just taking up shelf space for readable books.

    Have you heard of Nancy Pearl and BOOK LUST? It sounds like you’ve got a case of Book Lust yourself.

  4. I do think 8&9 should have been combined as a question.

    Yay! I was waiting for you to do this! Great books on your list! Reading in the afternoon – how luxurious! Enjoy!

Comments are closed.