Vending Machines

In honor of Father’s Day, my priest spoke about our Heavenly Father and His love for us.

   For his “other” job, Father T is a hospice chaplain.  Recently he had to attend a conference on chaplaincy.  There are many women hospice chaplains.  In a recent conversation with one woman he inquired why those female chaplains and ministers whom he encountered seemed so angry.  The woman responded, “We’re angry because when we prayed to the ‘heavenly Father’ He never gave us what we asked for!  Never!  Not any time!  And many of our earthly father’s were no better!”  She went on to explain to Father T that she removes any reference to the male gender in all of her prayers and scripture readings. 

Today Father emphatically reminded us that our Heavenly Father is NOT a holy vending machine that we plug in our dollar and get our Cherry Coke or chocolate bar of choice.  I have to admit that I missed what he said immediately following that comment because I was chuckling with great mirth in agreement with him.  I can’t say I’ve ever heard anyone use ‘vending machine’ and God in the same sentence. 

Anyway, he went on to tell us that no matter our circumstances with regard to our earthly father, there is no comparison to our Heavenly Father who is Good and Loving.  He can not NOT be Good and Loving.  His will for us is perfect and we can trust Him for that. 

So dear Readers, keep your dollar in your pocket and save it for a rainy day.  The holy vending machine doesn’t work, never did work, and never will work.   

Thanks be to God!

3 thoughts on “Vending Machines

  1. Along the same lines as the the vending machine example..

    A former priest of our parish said that Christ is not “Burger King”. You can’t have it your way! I still chuckle when I remember this…

  2. Athanasia, I’ve told my children that all fathers, including God, love their children and make decisions that are in their best interest, even though the child in his inexperience cannot understand this. Sometimes the answer is not “yes” or “no,” but “You have some things to learn before you get this.”

  3. Way back when I was going to Bible college, I ended up writing a short poem in response to the people there treating God like a vending machine. Lord, have mercy.

Comments are closed.