Clarence & LuLu

Today marks the 100th anniversary of the marriage of the hubster’s grandparent’s on his mother’s side.  His Mom is one of their seven children, the only girl!  CL and LuLu’s son sent out the following message to commemorate this auspicious day.

c_l_lulu_taylor_1907a.jpg

As you can see this  is the 100th year since Clarence and Lulu were married.  They survive in the memories of those of us who are still alive and who knew them well.  CL and Lulu were both dedicated Christian folk who instilled the Christian tradition in each of their children.  They were founding members of the Highlawn Baptist Church in Huntington, WV and he served as Sunday School Supt. and she was active in the church choir.

cl_lulu_taylor_1943.jpg

The photo from either 1942 or 1943 is one of the last ones I remember of them together and was taken at the A.B. and Ora residence.   A.B. of course was already dead.  

I think that they did a great job rearing seven children so that they have all succeeded as adults.  May we all give thanks for their gifts to us by their example.

The hubster sent out the following reply to Uncle:

Uncle,

Thanks so much for sending this reminder.  It is amazing what the two of them wrought!  The world is certainly better for all [their progeny]!!!  Since both of them had died well before I was born I never had the chance to know them, but I wish I had.

I was telling DD a couple of years ago how remarkable her great-grandparents must have been and cited as an example that my Mom went to Chicago to Baptist Missionary Training School at a time when, I imagine, it was unlikely for West Virginia women to go to school at all, much less in the big city of Chicago.  I went on to tell DD a story Mom told me of being in Chicago and having the chance to hear a preacher by the name of Fosdick (I’m drawing a blank on the guy’s full name, I’m stuck on Henry Emerson Fosdick but am not sure that is right).  You may recall that Fosdick was seen by the conservative church as quite a radical.  Mom recalls hearing quite a fuss made from more than a few West Virginia preachers who were quick to warn their congregants that this Fosdick character was not preaching the true faith.

Anyway, Mom was curious to see what all the fuss was about so she went to hear Fosdick (guess that is why you don’t send your daughters to the big city… you never know what trouble they might get into).  She was surprised because she didn’t hear the guy spewing evil at all, and in fact found much of what he said to be thoughtful and faithful.  She wrote to your father (Clarence Lee) and expressed confusion over what she had her from the West Virginia preachers about this man and what she had heard from the man himself.  Your father, founding member of Highlawn Baptist Church, wrote back and while his exact words are lost, Mom remembers him saying something to the effect of, “There is a lot in this world we don’t understand and the West Virginia preachers don’t have all the answers.”

I continue to find this story quite remarkable and very informative of my Mom, her parents, and subsequently me.  DD’s response, “I come from a line of strong women.”  I can’t tell the story without getting teary and even when typing, I have a lump in my throat.

Well done Clarence Lee and Lu Lu!

DD, her first cousin, and her Aunt, as well as several other extended cousins all carry the name of “Lee.” 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mimi
    Jun 19, 2007 @ 17:22:37

    Happy Anniversary!

  2. jcurmudge
    Jun 19, 2007 @ 16:08:09

    Thanks for sharing the hubsters letter. Fosdicks name was “Harry”. I heard him once and have cherished his books of sermons. He was a true Christian and a great preacher.

