Good Day Sunshine!

Am not feeling too spunky this evening.  A bit of tummy trouble – acid reflux I suspect.

Today at work was very, very busy.  Owl-emails were flying all over cyberspace.  No sooner I’d take care of one, then three more were dumped to replace it.  The first of the month always includes invoicing, which leads to updating financial records and tracking forms, which leads to payroll and all that nasty bookkeeping type stuff.  But I got it done!  At least the first batch anyway.  Invoicing is a good thing though because it leads to payments which leads to paychecks being able to be made!  That part is a very important thing because that leads to bills being paid!  Yay!  We like that!

It was hot, hot, hot today.  A toasty, sun-shiney 95 degrees F.  Tomorrow will be much of the same but with a bit more humidity.  The office where I spend three days a week is a lovely addition to the back of the boss’ house.  It has a cathedral ceiling with a nice fan, lovely flooring and Anderson windows all the way around.  Of course, in the winter we freeze to death and in the summer it turns into a convection oven.  Today the interior temperature was a steamy 84 degrees F.  And that was with two fans going!

I’m not sure why it is that way.  The addition is built on a concrete slab.  There are two vents in the ceiling for air conditioning/heating.  I guess because the afternoon sun sets and shines right through the side windows, it just bakes.  Anyway, it was nice to leave and get into a cool car.

I rushed home from work by 5:00 p.m., and as is standard for Monday’s and Wednesday’s, I rushed through making and consuming a quick dinner and dashed to class.  I arrived 5 minutes late. (Class starts at 6:00 p.m.)  On the way there the tummy started acting up.  Ugh.  Around 7:15 p.m. I knew I wasn’t going to make it till 9:00 p.m., so told the prof, got my handout, and headed home.  Still feeling a little queasy even with a cup of tea.  Before bed I’ll take another hit of that chalky minty stuff that calms acid stomachs.  Hopefully I’ll feel perky tomorrow for another round of work.

As I close, may I commend to you Fr. Stephen’s blog Glory to God for All Things.  He has several beautiful posts.   I especially love the painting by Mikhail Nesterov which Fr. Stephen has posted.

4 thoughts on “Good Day Sunshine!

  1. Darling! I pray for you on a daily basis to my favorite Saints that they will interced to the Father, Son and Holy Spirit on you behalf. I asked what I could do to help. I gues because I worry so much I wound uo with the pain of Diverticulosis. I took that as an answer and a blessing.
    Praise be to Our Divine Master.

  2. When I worked at the College as Registrar I had my office in the northwest corner of the building. For a few months I was Acting Dean and moved to that office on the Southwest corner. The next 5 years I served as Academic Dean I kept my Northwest corner. To heck with that afternoon sun beaming through multi-windows.
    I do find that chalky stuff usually settle my acid reflux. Be better!

Comments are closed.