Lunch Out

The hubster is recovering nicely from his ankle tendon surgery so far.  The swelling is down some, he can wiggle his toes pretty well, and hasn’t had any pain medication in over 12 hours.  We are keeping it iced and elevated 24/7.

For those who may be interested, here is a good view of the lateral ankle.  The tendon that was repaired is called the peroneus brevis.  The repair work was done at the part of the tendon that is below the ankle bone (lateral malleolus).

Since Wednesday, the hubster has been housebound.  Since I needed to go to the foodstore to pick up a few miscellaneous items, hubster decided to join me.  We had lunch in the little cafe at the store and he motored around in one of the motorized shopping carts the foodstore provides for those who have the need of one.  It is a good thing that he is the one with the ankle injury rather than me.  If I had been trying to maneuver the cart around, I probably would have knocked over several display cases and crashed into some people! 

Several observations:

  • People, largely older teenagers and adults, rush around with no care for those who need to move slowly.  Unbelievable!  Children (under 14) are much more polite and patient with those who are infirm in one way or another.
  • It takes a great deal more planning, energy and time to get around and accomplish tasks when you are handicapped in one way or another.
  • The hubster and I are all the more convinced of our desire to enter into a continuing care facility of some sort when we reach our elderly years.  The assistance offered will be welcomed.
  • The hubster better understands the fear of slipping while using crutches.  People seem more oblivious to those who use crutches or a cane than for those who are in a wheelchair.

I am sure there are more things that will come to mind as the hubster and I continue to reflect on this time of healing.  One thing I will say for him, he has been a very good patient!

7 thoughts on “Lunch Out

  1. “One thing I will say for him, he has been a very good patient!” Thank God for small favors. 😉

    As for the oafs in the supermarket and other places: At least in this part of the world, the small children (and their parents) are the worst offenders, literally running all around the supermarket with no regard whatever for what, or who, they cannon into. And if you so much as look askance at the little monsters, their parents get their noses royally bent out of shape. Honestly, if I could find an online grocery service, I think I’d use it.

  2. Good luck to the hubster on the healing. When I was on a walker or crutches, we would get one of those motorized carts in the grocery store. That is when I realized that you can’t reach the top shelf from there. You also can’t see in most of the display cases, especially in the meat department. The disabled have it harder than we ever even think about.

  3. To bad the Rosewood Wand will not hasten heaing.

    Bwahahahahahahah! so true! Continued prayers. And, hugs to you.

    It sounds like a lot of good lessons were learned, and I shall remember those points as well, as I definitely get hurried when out and about.

  4. The view of the lateral ankle left me gasping. Poor hubster.
    He is one brave man. Going to the foodstore already is remarkable. Best of luck on both.

  5. Glad to hear that healing is progressing. I’ve noticed that some people are inherently more compassionate than others. It shows most in young kids who haven’t learned that compassion is considered a weakness by others.

  6. To bad the Rosewood Wand will not hasten heaing. I’ve often thought about those go-carts, but haven’t tried one yet. Am thankful that I CAN still get around pretty well. Did get a bit “walked out” visiting Mt. St. Helen’s yesterday. Best wishes to you both – healing and digesting.

Comments are closed.