Marco Island, Florida

To say the hubster and I have been busy since December 31st, is to say “the sky is blue.” I think we have redefined the word.

One treat we gave ourselves was a winter respite to Marco Island, FL which is south of Naples and is on the Gulf of Mexico. The weather was unbelievably beautiful; warm with highs of 81, clear blue skies, and blue green water.

Here are some photos for you to enjoy.

dscf0182.jpg

The above photo gives you a good look from our balcony. We overlooked the pool area and the beach. The sand was so white! I collected some beautiful shells.

dscf0185.jpg

This is one of the beautiful sunsets we viewed each night.  Incredible!

dscf0153.jpg

Here is yours truly holding a 28 month old alligator.  Yes, he mouth was rubber-banded shut!  He has 800 teeth!  Do you think I am nuts?!?!  Did you know that an alligator’s tongue is attached to the bottom of his mouth?  That is so he doesn’t bite it off!

dscf0178.jpg

Here I am, once again, making friends with a white cockatoo.  He likes to snuggle and have his back scratched.  I was amazed at how friendly he was!

dscf0140.jpg

The above photo is of a big Mommy alligator in her natural habitatin the Everglades.  She was HUGE and mistook the branch for a snack!

dscf0144.jpg

We met Mr. Pelican on his perch when on a fan-boat ride through the Everglades.  What a silly looking bird he was.

In all it was a lovely time. Hopefully I will have some photos of the wave-runner tour Phil and I took when we came across a pod of dolphins.

It’s nice to be home.  Classes start tomorrow!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Jan 15, 2008 @ 07:55:39

    It looks wonderful – we have torrential rain and flood warnings here 😦
    Have a great new term of classes !

  2. trellmore
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 23:20:02

    Annie ~ that’s a neat little poem. I’ve not heard it before.

    Ian ~ I was only as brave as the rubber bands were strong!

  3. Ian
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 23:17:27

    Oh my: you’re braver than I am with the alligator! Looks like an absolutely wonderful place, and a wonderful trip.

    All the best for the studies.

  4. Uncle John
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 17:25:04

    Beautiful island. Jean and I were there a few years ago and also brought back some shells.

  5. debd
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 11:42:45

    Oh, it looks so warm and beautiful. I can’t wait to see the wave runner pix.

  6. aniroo
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 04:41:00

    A wonderful bird is the pelican.
    His beak can hold more
    Than is belly can.

    This was not by Ogden Nash but by Dixon Lanier Merritt. I always thought it was Ogden Nash.

