Tagged by Elizabeth

I’ve been tagged by Elizabeth for this really cool meme.
The Rules:-
Pick up the nearest book of 123 pages or more. (No cheating!)
Find Page 123.
Find the first 5 sentences.
Post the next 3 sentences.
Tag 5 people.

The book nearest me is one of the 6 history books I am reading for my class. Authored by Stephen Ambrose it is titled, Nixon: The Education of a Politician 1913-1962.

“Then he’d reason with them. Rather than make a direct contradiction he would lead them around until he had them over in his corner. He has terrific ability in that regard.”

For context, this quote was said by Roy Day, the creator of the Committee of 100 who were Nixon’s supporters in his first run for political office for the Republican Congressional seat in 1946 against Jerry Voorhis.

Tag! You’re it, Vara, Meg, Cousin Ken (if he’s reading this), Aniroo, and Uncle Curmudge.

5 thoughts on “Tagged by Elizabeth

  1. I think there was some poor handling of the Watergate affair, but had that not overshadowed things, I think the Nixon presidency would have gone down in history as successful. It is entirely possible that a Republican would have won in 1976 (though had Nixon served his entire second term, we can never know who the candidates would have been, but I think we might have had an earlier Reagan presidency. . . hmm . . . I think I may blog about this. . .) .

    But I digress. . . I agree that Nixon was ambitious, though I think there was certainly something of the altruist about him. I think he really did care for the good of the country.

    I say this as a historian generally and not at all an expert on Nixon – I’ve not read any biographies to get impressions pro or con. Perhaps this is something I should add to my extended when-I-get-around-to-it reading agenda.

  2. Sol, my impression of Nixon is favorable at this point. It has been very curious to read Ambrose who clearly is not in Nixon’s camp, whereas Irwin Gellman the author of “The Contender” is the opposite. Gellman researched documents that had previously not been used to assess Nixon and “revealed” some items that were more favorable.

    I see Nixon as an ambitious man, one taught to survive the temper of his father by listening well, being observant, staying out the the line of fire as much as possible, and working hard to achieve a goal. These I see as favorable character traits.

    I do not see “underhandedness” to the extreme in the two elections I’ve read about so far. I see him taking information and presenting it in the light of the nation’s temperament and fears at the time.

    I’ll let you know if my opinion changes as we continue on in his career.

    What is your impression of him?

  3. I shall get to it tomorrow. HARD time at work and dealing with the Infernal Revenue Shysters at the same time.

    BTW… I just put up two MONSTER posts on “Voices”. One is about an all-Orthodox believer army unit formed in Russia and the other is about a bishop protesting the image of St Olga on playing cards (what is the Monster in this post is the image, “The Baptism of St Olga”… you’ll love it!). Neither is long, you’ll love both.

    It takes so MUCH time, my translation work… it leaves me with little freedom 😦 Nonetheless, if I have facility in a given language, I have a responsibility to get things out.

    Cheers and love,

    Vara

Comments are closed.