Update

Did you ever notice that when it has been some time since your last entry, you are reluctant to write?  Why is that?  It’s rather silly.  Or that you feel like you need to defend yourself to your readers as to why you’ve not posted an entry?  LOL!

I learned a very interesting thing from my Spanish professor.  For a string of letters to be considered an acronym, the acronym must be pronounceable.  For example, HUAC (House Un-American Committee) is an acronym because it is pronounced hue-ack; COPS (Community Oriented Policing Services) is an acronym.  However, NBA (National Basketball Association) and MBA (Major League Baseball Association) are not.

I think that is so cool…but then again, I am easily amused.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Melania
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 02:48:58

    I didn’t realize that either.

    I can relate to how it feels not to post… especially since I didn’t post for a very long time! I’m trying to get back into it again. It takes a bit.

  2. Ian
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 02:25:34

    I recall reading that in a book a year or so ago and going, ‘Wow!’

    I join you in being easily amused then.

  3. mimima
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 19:12:46

    Hum. I didn’t realize that, but now that I’m saying them out loud (much to the consernation of my coworkers, I am sure) I can totally see that.

    Yes, I know how it is with blog posts and how not writing leads to more not writing.

