Can you read this?

fi yuo cna raed tihs, yuo hvae a sgtrane mnid, too.  Cna yuo raed tihs?  Olny 55 plepoe tuo fo 100 anc.

i cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulacity uesdnatnrd waht I was rdanieg.  The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno’t mtaetr in waht oerdr the ltteres in a wrod are, the olny iproamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the rghit pclae.  The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it whotuit a pboerlm.  Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe.  Azanmig huh?  Yaeh and I awlyas tghuhot slpeling was ipmorantt!

This was shared by my Spanish professor.  It really was amazing to see how many of us in the class could read this rather quickly and how many could not.  It was also interesting to type it in because I found my fingers wanted to type the correct letter placement because it was what my mind was reading.  I had to say each letter under my breath to be get the incorrect placement.  And yes, there are a few correctly spelled words in the paragraph.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. barnrat
    Mar 05, 2008 @ 23:38:47

    Weird. I could read it, too, but maybe that’s because I’m a really, really bad speller….

  2. Suzanne
    Feb 21, 2008 @ 20:10:13

    Isn’t it remarkable how the human mind can sort things out.

  3. Louise
    Feb 20, 2008 @ 19:37:17

    I could read it but I don’t think I could have typed it. My fingers are on automatic and it would be really difficult to deliberately mess up the spelling of a word.

  4. Mom
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 17:08:41

    Amazing! I could actually read it. Better the second time.

  5. jcurmudge
    Feb 18, 2008 @ 22:57:25

    No prblm! I hvae awlys been albe to fro smoe roesan or ohter.

  6. aniroo
    Feb 18, 2008 @ 13:33:22

    I have seen this before and often wonder if this is how my students who have been diagnosed with a learning disorder read things all the time. If it is, then all the reading lessons probably look like this too. I admire them for being able to read at all.

  7. Elizabeth
    Feb 18, 2008 @ 07:32:16

    I can read it okay 🙂
    How is Spanish class going ?

