The ants go marching two by two…Hurrah! Hurrah!

What do ants and ink cartridges have in common? One would think nothing, right? Not in our office. Read on to discover the excitement of the day.

At 12:15 I received a call at home from my co-worker Susie-Q. (Today is my usual day off.)

Hey, how’s it going today? Busy? Silence on the other end of the phone. Then a strained voice says…

Philippa?……There are ants in the printer.

What? I’m sure I misheard her. Ants? IN the printer? On occasion I’d see one traipsing up the wall or across the floor and with nary a thought, whack ‘em dead. Fini, right? Apparently not!

Philippa, there ARE ants in the printer.

Uh? Really? Are you sure?

Yes Philippa, I am positive!!! I was printing some documents and the ants were coming out with the paper! I turned the printer upside down and they are ALL OVER THE PLACE!!!

Okay! Okay! This is totally gross Heavy sigh. Get out the vacuum, open the printer up and vacuum the thing out!!

Uh. Oh. Okay.

Do you want me to come to the office and help you do it? We’re both a little squeamish about bugs so company in these things helps!

No, no. That’s okay. It’s a good idea. I’ll do it and I have to go to the office-products-in-a-box store. Why don’t I get those canisters of air and use that too?

Great idea! But take printer outside and spray that sucker clean and leave it out there! In the meantime, I’ll run to the store and get some ant traps. Tomorrow when I come in I’ll do a thorough office cleaning and put out the ant traps.

Oh good! That sounds like a plan Philippa! Ugh! I feel like I need to take a shower! Talk to you later!

About two hours later, the phone rings again.

Philippa? It’s me again. Ya wanna hear the rest of the story?

Lord have mercy…Okay. What happened?

I opened the printer cover and they were ALL OVER the blue ink cartridge! All over it! I took the cartridge out and threw it away. Talk about disgusting. When I leave today, do you think I should put the printer in a trash bag?

Oh that’s an excellent idea! Suffocate them! Then we’ll see if they’re gone for good.

This has to be the strangest thing I’ve ever heard of! Ants attracted to an ink cartridge? Has anyone ever heard of this? Hopefully a thorough dusting, vacuuming and wiping down will get rid of them all together. The last thing I want to do is print out a letter with a squashed ant crossing a ‘t’.

7 thoughts on “The ants go marching two by two…Hurrah! Hurrah!

  1. Hi,
    I took a new printer last month,and what philippa said is absolutely right.I had seen many RED ants coming out of the crevices of the rubber buttons over the printer(this was mentioned by my friend) and I believed it blindly.

    But as mentioned above when I start printing these ants come out indicating that they have nothing to do with the rubber button.They may well be attracted to the cartridge ,but for this we need to be well versed with the ink composition.

    Also it’s high time for ants to collect food which they would use it for the entire winter,so there is nothing wrong for them to eat what they want! hehe, they might eat anything that’s left free.

    It would be better if we talk to the printer officials regarding this and get this thing to task.

  2. Well Mrs. Mutton – the guilty food party person may be ME! Does that mean I get to “get rid” of me?! LOL! LOL!

    As it is just Susie-Q and me in the office, and I like Susie-Q quite a bit and we get along REALLY well….I guess I need to take responsibility for my crumbs! LOL! LOL!

  3. My first thought was also that your office might have a food problem. Sometimes people just don’t clean up after themselves when they’ve eaten, and that’s like open season for ants.

    OTOH, if there’s someone in the office whom you really can’t stand, and there’s no other way to get rid of her, you could always print out an office memorandum, in Full Living Color, and send it to her all full of ants.

    Not the most paschal idea I’ve ever had, but it beats screaming at her to Get Lost!

  4. That is utterly bizarre !
    How long had the blue cartridge been in the machine, do you know ?
    Maybe whoever put it in there had just eaten and the food smell got on the cartridge……..

  5. Sorry Dears, But I got the biggest and best laugh I have had all day. Your last sentence really put me over the edge as I closed my eyes and gave it all a visual. Too Funny, yet sad as ants are really hard to get rid of. The only thing that worked for me was dehydrated garlic , minced kind. You know, the kind you buy in the food store. I’m sure any brand will work. Just put the opened bottle near where they appear most and see what happens. Let me know how fast it works for you. I think it was a couple of days for me. You probably could sprinkle it all over the desk and around the printer. Good luck!

Comments are closed.