Prayer Corner

My Prayer Corner

Orthodox Mother had a reader’s request to share photos of our prayer space (corner) because as a new Orthodox person, the reader didn’t have a clue on what one looked like, etc.  To assist Orthodox Mother’s dear reader, I post a photo of my own prayer corner, a term used loosely since it isn’t really a “corner” but a wall.

In case you are unable to see the icons clearly, they are as follows:

Top row (l – r):  The Holy Theotokos, Christ, Rublev’s Trinity

Middle row (l – r):  St. Athanasius the Great, a photograph of Blessed Fr. Sophrony, icon of Blessed Fr. Sophrony & St. Silouan the Athonite, blessed photo of the Weeping icon of St. Anna

Under shelf (l – r):  St. Xenia of St. Petersburg, The Holy Theotokos & All the North American Saints

Pop on over to Orthodox Mother’s blog and help out her dear reader.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julana
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 16:43:10

    Hi Philippa,

    I just read Frederica Mathewes-Green’s Facing East, and learned about those prayer corners. Very interesting.
    I have an icon of Christ, holding up a Bible with a verse on it, on an East wall in one of our smaller rooms. I had an icon of the resurrection, but can’t find it.

    Hope you’re doing well.

    Julana YS

  2. Monica
    Jul 06, 2008 @ 02:38:58

    Sorry it took so long to get around here. It’s lovely and seems very inviting to focus on prayer. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Michelle Melania
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 18:40:09

    Your prayer corner is lovely. I wish we had a place more out of the way for ours, like yours seems to be.

  4. Mom
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 02:55:25

    Since Jesus is the Heart of My Home I have His Picture(The Sacred Heart of Jesus) above the mantle of my fireplace , surrounded by a grapevine wreath with lights all around it. Beneath are all my Holy Icons of the Holy Theotoklos and a blessed photo of the Weeping Icon of St Anna , It is the first place I go in the morning, through the day and before bed. I think any place in your home where you can go to pray and meditate without interuption.is good.

    I have a friend who uses her walk in closet as a prayer space. God Bless us all,

  5. Mimi
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 01:46:35

    Beautiful!

  6. jcurmudge
    Jun 28, 2008 @ 17:37:49

    And my prayer space is lying quietly in bed and remembering all of my family and then my friends.

