Stole this right off of Mimi’s blog.

What books have you read? Bold the ones you have read, italicize the ones you are planning on reading and underline the ones you loved:

1. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen – Read it a very long time ago but enjoyed.

2. The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien – I read it AFTER watching the movie because I finally understood what it was about..

3. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte – This one I’ve read multiple times and enjoyed it each time.

4. Harry Potter series – JK Rowling – Read them! Would like to do a re-read. Spiritual big brother doesn’t like the notion of them and thinks a re-read is a bad idea.

5. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee –

6. The Bible – Yup…a couple times.

7. Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte – Excellent book! Read several times!

8. Nineteen Eighty Four – George Orwell-

9. His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman

10. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens- High School, but don’t remember much of it.

11. Little Women – Louisa M Alcott – The binding is cracked from so many reads and re-reads!

12. Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy –

13. Catch 22 – Joseph Heller-

14. Complete Works of Shakespeare – Read something in high school but can’t remember what. Didn’t like it then. Expect to not like it now.

15. Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier –

16. The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien – See “Lord of the Rings” comment. :o)

17. Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks –

18. Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger – High school read. Vaguely remember it…just barely.

19. The Time Traveller’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger –

20. Middlemarch – George Eliot –

21. Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell – This was one of the first LONG novels I ever read. I devoured it in 4 days. Unbelievably good!

22. The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald – Enjoyed this book very much. Didn’t like the movie as well, though Redford was easy on the eyes at the time!

23. Bleak House – Charles Dickens-

24. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy-

25. The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams –

26. Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh –

27. Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky –

28. Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck –

29. Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll- This was a delightful book despite feeling like one needed to be on drugs or something to really ‘get it.’ LOL!

30. The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame- Another favorite!

31. Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy-.

32. David Copperfield – Charles Dickens

33. Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis- I never could get into these books though my son has read them over and over.

34. Emma – Jane Austen

35. Persuasion – Jane Austen

36. The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini-

37. Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres –

38. Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden-

39. Winnie the Pooh – AA Milne-

40. Animal Farm – George Orwell- Read this in high school. Didn’t understand it!

41. The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown- This was a whacky book but I enjoyed it for the pure mystery story notion of it.

42. One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez

43. A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irving

44. The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins –

45. Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery – Loved this!

46. Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy

47. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

48. Lord of the Flies – William Golding-

49. Atonement – Ian McEwan

50. Life of Pi – Yann Martel

51. Dune – Frank Herbert

52. Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons

53. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen-

54. A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth

55. The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon

56. A Tale Of Two Cities – Charles Dickens- I really enjoyed this book and have read it several times..

57. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley-

58. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time – Mark Haddon

59. Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez-

60. Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck-

61. Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov

62. The Secret History – Donna Tartt

63. The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold –

64. Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas – This is another favorite of mine which I’ve read multiple times.

65. On The Road – Jack Kerouac –

66. Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy

67. Bridget Jones’ Diary – Helen Fielding

68. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie

69. Moby Dick – Herman Melville – This is sitting on my shelf with a bookmark at the end of chapter one. I really need to pick it up again.

70. Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens – I slogged my way through this. I’m not crazy about Dickens.

71. Dracula – Bram Stoker – Read it. Meh.

72. The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett –I read this only a few years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it.

73. Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson

74. Ulysses – James Joyce – Read this in high school. Our teacher PHOTOCOPIED the entire book to hand out. Talk about torture! Lord have mercy! Never again!

75. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath-

76. Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome

77. Germinal – Emile Zola

78. Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray

79. Possession – AS Byatt –

80. A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens- Though I am not a Dickens fan, I did like this story.

81. Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell

82. The Color Purple – Alice Walker-

83. The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro

84. Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert

85. A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry

86. Charlotte’s Web – EB White – What a wonderful little story! Another favorite!

87. The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom

88. Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – Enjoyed this too. Got DS hooked too.

89. The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton

90. Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad

91. The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Exupery –

92. The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks

93. Watership Down – Richard Adams

94. A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole

95. A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute-

96. The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas – I read this as a teen and loved it. I’ve re-read it more times than I can count.

97. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl – Read this as a teen. This is DS’s most fav book of all time.

98. Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

99. Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain

And adding MY personal favorite:

100. Man in the Iron Mask: I’ve read this as many times as The Three Musketeers.

30 out of 100.  Hmmm….I feel like that should be more but the majority of these books I’ve never even heard of.  Oh well.  LOL!  Maybe someday.

3 thoughts on “

  1. I clearly need to pick up Dumas, after you and Esther so highly recommended.

    And, I have a book on the way to me “Looking for God in Harry Potter” which I look forward to wholeheartedly agreeing with – would you like me to send it your way when I am done?

  2. I actually liked The Dark Materials much better than the Potter series. I was disappointed in the 3rd of the trilogy though. Maybe I should re read it. I’ve read a lot of the others. I’ll have to go through the list when I have more time.

  3. I loved the Potter series. Lots of family values. I enjoyed His Dark Materials too. Much better than the movie.

Comments are closed.