Horticultural Experiments: Green/Brown Thumbs

As a person who enjoys pretty things, beautifully tended gardens in particular, colorful flowers specifically – I like to poke around in our garden. Mind you, I’m not interested in spending hours upon hours cleaning it up, blah, blah, blah. Thus a small flower garden is what I’d like – however, it is NOT what I have! Never the less, I still poke around as best I can and tell the neighbors that I am purposefully cultivating thistle weeds because I like the flower! <greatbiggrin!>

One of my experiments has been to grow violets from cuttings. Here are the results so far. I have high hopes! Provided I don’t kill them with over watering or over feeding them. I hope the new ones bloom. The flowers are purple. When they do (IF they do), I’ll have to post pics!

Original violet plant rec'd 2005
Original violet plant rec’d 2005
Second cutting done about 3 mos. ago.  You can see the new leaves popping up just above the big leaf that is in the lower center of the pot!
Second cutting done about 3 mos. ago. You can see the new leaves popping up just above the big leaf that is in the lower center of the pot!
First cutting
First cutting done about 1 yr. ago. No blooms yet.
4 thoughts on “Horticultural Experiments: Green/Brown Thumbs

  1. You’ve got to get Pete to post a picture of the violet he grew from a cutting. And post a picture of yours when it blooms.

  2. Pete takes good care of his mother’s flowers. We have an African Violet cutting which blooms regularly. At Betty’s death I got a Peace Plant from garden friends. The thing bloomed early, and then lay dormant for months. This Spring and Summer it has been blooming regularly. I’ll try to send you pictures via e-mail

Comments are closed.