More Garden Experiments

Here are more firsts for me.

I planted Gladiola bulbs in May. They are just beginning to bloom!

Red Gladiola

Red Gladiola

Pink Gladiolas

Pink GladiolasRed Gladiolas

Up close & personal with the reds!

Up close & personal with the reds!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 06:32:10

    How lovely !
    Do you ever stake your plants so they don’t get buffeted by the wind ?
    We live by the sea, so our garden gets exposed to some really strong winds, and tall plants just seem to get flattened………..

  2. aniroo
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 03:29:51

    How pretty. Maybe it’s worth it to plant some myself. Who would have thought such beauty could come from something so insignificant as a bulb?

  3. Mom
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 03:28:38

    I am so proud of you. Maybe you got your green thumb from Gram Gertrude, Gram Rosie and Aunt Bobby. AB had marvelous Violets. They were always in bloom. I think the secret is to put them in teacups or small pots so they become pot-bound. Best of luck angel girl.

  4. Ian
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 03:04:56

    Lovely indeed! Brightens up a dull day in the office in Sydney town.

  5. Mimi
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 17:49:50

    I’ve always been told that gladiolas are the birth month flower for August, and never knew why growing up, but now that I see them blooming so gorgeously at the end of the summer, I understand it.

    And, the pink one is particularly lovely, but they are all delightful!

