Cluckingham Palace

As promised, here are the long awaited pictures of the chicken run the hubster and his sister built for “da girls.”  From what I understand, da girls are lovin’ their new digs.  Some slight adjustment needs to be made to the height of the nesting boxes, which are too high.  Apparently the highest point in the coop should be the “roost,” a bar that da girls like to sit on.  The nesting boxes are strictly for egg laying.  At least, that’s what I think is the case.  I am not, nor do I care to be, a chicken expert.  I’ll cook ’em and eat ’em.  Not interested in raising ’em.

To answer a commentor’s question:  all 6 chickens are layers.

Enjoy!

Here you can see the coop being added to the back of the run, rather than build it on the inside.

The nesting boxes.  Three chickens to a nesting box.  Apparently they like company when they nest.

Looking from the inside, you can see the opening to the outside for easy egg retrieval.

The “almost” finished product with a view from the rear.  The door is the “people” door making easy access for cleaning out the coop.

Here are “da girls” enjoying their little ramp in to and out of the coop.  Aren’t they cute?  I can’t wait until there are enough eggs to try.  I understand that fresh eggs are delicious.

Props to my dad-in-law for the photography!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 05:08:44

    Cluckingham Palace is absolutely awesome !

  2. barnrat
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 14:21:41

    Hello to all! I’m the sister-in-law/chicken keeper. I’ve got 3 leghorns and 3 Rhode Island Reds; they are my first chickens and I just love them! In response to Suzanne, you’ll be happy to know that they do get a variety of stuff. They have layer pellets, but they also get corn, oats, other grains, kitchen scraps of all kinds, green stuff from the yard (they especially like dandelion greens), worms, grasshoppers, and other bugs. I’ll try the black sunflower seeds, too. It’s amazing what they will eat!

    I should be getting eggs by early November!

  3. Suzanne
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 21:18:07

    That’s an absolutely beautiful setup for your hens! I think I’m jealous, but I’ll be happy with my piney woods poultry yard. 🙂

    Yes, fresh eggs are really tasty, and you don’t have to worry about salmonella. Try to feed your birds more seeds and grain (get a good variety, and include black sunflower seeds in Fall and Winter) and less “layer pellets,” because, frankly I’m not sure of what’s in those layer pellets (or layer crumbles). Also, give “da girls” your kitchen vegetable and fruit scraps. They love them.

  4. jcurmudge
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 00:50:56

    glad to know that chicken & eggs are on your diet! And I’m stuck with egg beaters.

  5. Ian
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 00:13:06

    [Oh, and love the blog title 🙂 ]

  6. Ian
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 00:12:35

    Oh my: what a talented husband you have — and a talented photographer in your father-in-law too.

    Looks great.

  7. debd
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 18:01:17

    That looks very nice! Enjoy the eggs.

    How many layers do you have?

