Slamming screen doors

Like every kid on the planet, running around on a hot summer day was the regular routine.  Of course, part of the running included doing so in to and out of the house because you forgot some toy or were planning on playing catch instead of Matchbox cars, needed a drink or needed to use the potty.

Out you’d run, plowing through the screen door.  As you careened down the front steps, SLAM!! the door would bang behind you.

Ooops, forgot the mitt to play catch.  Back inside you’d run.  SLAM!! goes the screen door.  Run up the stairs to your bedroom.  Grab the mitt.  Down the stairs, two at a time…jump the last three! BANG!!  Through the screen door, SLAM!!

Then your sister would run inside to get her Barbie house.  SLAM!!  Run upstairs.  Grab the house.  Run down the stairs and out the door.  SLAM!!

The next sound would be…your Mother (or worse yet Grandmom) yelling at the top of her lungs….

….IF I HEAR THAT DOOR SLAM ONE MORE TIME YOU’RE INSIDE FOR THE REST OF THE DAY!!!

Of course, you barely heard her words because you were running full tilt and were half way down the block heading to the field to play catch with your friends while she was screaming life a fish-wife.

My boss’ home (where our office is located) has a screen door.  Whenever I enter through the door, I pause to catch it before it slams.  Every single time I do this, her husband says, “That’s okay.  Leave it go.  It will slam shut.”  And when it does I cringe and wait for my Mother’s voice bellowing through the house and out into the neighborhood…

…….IF I HEAR THAT DOOR SLAM ONE MORE TIME YOU’RE INSIDE FOR THE REST OF THE DAY!!!

Isn’t it interesting how different sounds and smells transport you to another day in the past and evoke the same emotion?

Do you have the same experience with a particular sound?

2 thoughts on “Slamming screen doors

  1. Oh, yes. Blue jays squawking immediately make me think of my grandma’s neighborhood, hanging out at her house in the summer. I’m thankful I have blue jays in my yard since they remind me of her often!

Comments are closed.