Drawings

Our drawing class has met three times already.  I thought I would share some of the art I have generated in these past three weeks.  I hope you enjoy them.  I know I enjoyed creating them.

Our first assignment was to create a self portrait still life using our choice of three objects that represent ourselves.  I chose my prayer book which represents God as the central part of my life, the crochet hook resting on top of the book represents my joy in doing crafts and needlework and my hope to use my needlework for the Church, and the yellow sunflower represents my marriage to the hubster.  The reason the flower is the only color in the picture is to express the joy and love and ‘brightness’ that the hubster is in my life.

This landscape was last nights work done in about 60 to 75 minutes.  I really like the way it came out, particularly the tree trunks.

These pictures are from my sketchbook.  We are to draw 15 minutes every day.  From left to right:  bananas (pastels), scrollwork on a violin (pencil), and my lunch pail and coffee mug (pencil).

Hope you enjoy them!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aniroo
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 01:34:32

    After only 3 classes. I’m afraid that after 303 classes my drawings would never be that good. Keep it up.

  2. Philippa Alan
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 00:00:12

    Thank you one and all for your gracious comments. I am blushing.

    DebD – No iconography for me. It was a passing thought at the first blush of Orthodoxy, but no more. My hope and prayer is to use my needlework abilities to make things for use in the Church like Mrs. Mutton has. “SHE” is my needlework idol.

    Frankly, it has surprised me to fall so quickly into the comfortable ‘zone’ required for drawing. Usually it takes me a long time to get there however, that has not been the case with this class. It has been almost 20 years since I did any serious drawing. Thus my surprise.

    Again thank you one and all.

  3. Mrs. Mutton
    Sep 10, 2008 @ 21:53:38

    I like Mimi’s comment. I am SO impressed.

  4. Laura
    Sep 10, 2008 @ 13:53:39

    Beautiful! What’s next? Iconography school?

  5. Mimi
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 21:07:39

    Wow! you are so good. What beautiful work. Enjoy your drawing time and may it continue to be something you take time to do, even when the class is over.

    A gift like that should’t be under a bushel.

  6. debd
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 19:17:17

    Those are so good. You’ve got some real talent there.

    Thanks so much for sharing.

  7. Elizabeth
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 18:59:35

    These are delightful !
    Well done !

    I am glad you are having fun creating such lovely things 🙂

  8. Michelle
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 18:57:10

    That is great! I would love to take a drawing class.

  9. jcurmudge
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 17:34:05

    Very, very nice!

  10. Mom
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 16:48:57

    I am so excited to see you drawing again. I can hardly wait to see what is next. This is sssoooooooooooo good.

