About the day

Forty-nine years ago I was born and mother said, “I baked a cake!”  I dearly hope it was chocolate!

The hubster surprised me with four dozen red roses plus one bunch of calla lilies for each year.  I will post a photo soon.  I’ve never seen so many red roses in one place! They are absolutely gorgeous!  Thank you my dearest!

The morning started with a telephone call from my little buddies E & P at 7:50 a.m. singing “Happy Birthday Aunt Philippa, cha-cha-cha!”  One should be serenaded in such a manner every birthday morn!  The smile on my face and in my heart has lasted the day long.

At the office my co-worker greeted me with a card and a box of Good ‘n Plenty.  The girl knows what I love!  Licorice sweetness.

My DD sent me a “Happy Birthday” text message and then called.  My DS wrote me a great email that showed me the man he has become evidenced through his personal insight and thoughts.  My parents sent me an absolutely hilarious birthday card which has me chuckling still.  My in-laws called and we shared a delightful conversation during which I was heartened to hear how good my MIL’s health is for one who will be 90 in six weeks.  My ‘adopted’ son wrote me a letter and a specific sentence in the concluding paragrah moved my heart to tears. Nearby friends sent beautiful cards with loving notes. Distant family and cyber-friends sent e-cards and Facebook Wall birthday greetings.

These gifts of the heart mean more to me than any present ever received.  This has been the best birthday in a really long time.

It has been a humbling day.

God is good.

10 thoughts on “About the day

  1. You , my dearest daughter , are a very SPECIAL person and deserve all the best wishes from all the exceptionally wonderful friends you have acquired over the years especially those with whom you blog. God Bless you my Dear Heart.

Comments are closed.