Global Warming

(Photo from our local newspaper The Morning Call.) Here is a beautiful photo of the snowfall we received yesterday.  This area is approximately 45 minutes north of where I live.  Some parts of the Pocono Mountains received 16 INCHES of snow!  This is unheard of for the end of October around these parts.

But, my goodness, isn’t that beautiful?  I may have to try drawing some of this.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matt
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 00:34:35

    I am sooooo envious.

  2. -C
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 12:46:47

    I admire your ability to see the beauty in the new fallen snow. It sort of gives me a feeling of dread as I anticipate the oncoming 6-month long season.

  3. Ian
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 02:13:22

    I am off to Yellowstone NP in December…looking forward to the snow. 🙂

  4. victoria
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 01:28:10

    gorgeous photo!

    I am filled with snow-envy looking at this.

  5. Nicholas Pietropaolo
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 19:18:37

    Hi Philippa,

    You don’t know who I am and I don’t really know who you are, but I was searching for my name on Google (like one does when one is bored at work) and I ran across your blog, with regards to a post from a few years back about your paternal grandfather and Ellis Island. As you can (hopefully) see in this post, my name is also Nicholas Pietropaolo. I was named after my grandfather, Nicolo Pietropaolo, though I’m not sure where he got his name from. I was just wondering if we might be related.

    I know my grandfather has/had a bunch of siblings (I’m thinking 8?) and that he lived in Nanuet, NY while my father was growing up and a while after. (60’s – 90’s). I’m 25, and was born and raised in Syracuse, NY, though I’ve driven through the Poconos a number of times, so I appreciate the oddness of the snow at this time of year.

    I’m going to consult with my father about his aunts and uncles, and maybe we can find out if we have a common line of descent. 🙂

    Cheers,
    Nick P.

  6. aniroo
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 18:16:59

    I love walking in the snow. I just hate driving in it. I drive over a beautiful “Foothill Pass” it is beautiful in the winter, as long as the road is clear and I can admire the scenery instead of looking for icy spots.

  7. Mimi
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 17:33:43

    It does seem awfully early for that amount of snow! But it is gorgeous all the same.

  8. jcurmudge
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 16:13:16

    At least we didn’t get the 12-26 inches this week which fell in Montana earlier this month. I’ll bet Philadelphia is glad that .79 inches yesterday was rain. Go Phillies!

  9. Mom
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 16:03:25

    DD, This is just too beautiful for words. If you decide to try drawing or painting any scenes like this I sure would like to buy a few. AB “s passion was covered bridges in snow or not. Too bad she got sick before she could fulfill her dreams. Because of her I came to love scenes like this. Just a little trivia, AB told me when I was very youn that my Mom and Dad found me under a snow bank wrapped in newspaper. Isn’t that I hoot! The best part was I really belived that was how I was born, can you just imagine? ha, ha.

