Honors Thesis?

Yesterday I received a letter from my advisor who is the Head of the History Department at Muhlenberg.  The letter was an invitation to do an Honors Thesis in order to graduate with Honors in History due to my high overall GPA and my History GPA.  The former needs to be over 3.5 and the latter over 3.75 in order to receive the invitation.

The thesis would be done as an Independent Study with the History professor of my choice on the topic of my choice, 20-25 pages in length and would need to be defended before a panel of History professors.

Unfortunately, I declined the offer though it was nice to receive it.  Now I ask you, how in the world would I fit in the time to do research for a 25 page paper when I am taking three classes this semester, all with heavy reading loads, and one of said classes is writing intensive?  Plus, volunteer at church, take care of the house, work part time and somewhere in there spend time with family, sleep and eat?

And truth be told, I’m not disappointed.  Though, it would have been very cool to do a thesis on the History and Development of Monasticism!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mrs. Mutton
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 11:31:10

    I agree with all of the above comments, but most especially with your own last comment — snerk, I can picture the raised eyebrows with a topic like *that*!

    I also found that it was much easier to maintain a high GPA as a non-trad. I don’t know why that should be, but when I got my own degree, I was running a household, holding down a full-time job, and directing the parish choir. I look back now and say, “How the heck did I *do* all that?!?!” You will, too!

  2. Mimi
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 18:45:51

    Squeeeeeeeeee! What a brilliant thesis that’d be.

    And, I totally underestand why you declined, but I agree, what a blessing to have been nominated. Good job.

  3. Laura
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 11:50:33

    That is an honor, but I definitely understand why you declined the offer!

  4. Ian
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 09:34:56

    Well done on the nomination! That is absolutely fantastic.

    And well done on knowing your limitations as well! Perhaps in 20 years time you can pick it up again. 🙂 🙂

  5. Elizabeth
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 07:27:27

    Very well done indeed !!!
    What a compliment to you to receive the invitation, even if you are not able to undertake it at the moment.
    Your life sounds extremely full 🙂

  6. ani
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 05:20:58

    Congratulations on the invitation!

  7. debd
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 04:16:14

    congratulations on the honor! I understand about declining, makes sense.

  8. jcurmudge
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 02:57:21

    As the saying goes: “It’s an honor to be nominated.” And congratulations on your excellent academic record. In my experience the best students were always those who were busiest both in class and out.

