Day book entry for Sunday

The Simple Woman’s Day book

Outside my window it is 19 degrees F according to the hubster.  It is the end of a blessed Sunday.

I am thinking about joy of Bishop Tikhon’s visit at our parish today.  He came to check on “his church” and to encourage us to keep to the good fight of ministering in God’s name.

I am thankful for the blessing of meeting Sub-Deacon Ryan and Father Deacon monk Nicholas who accompanied Bishop Tikhon.  Both are students at St. Tikhon’s and Father Deacon’s home monastery is the Protection of the Most Holy Theotokos in Weaversville, NC.  His homeland is the Ukraine.  Like other monks I’ve met or seen, he has eyes that are like a clear pool of calm water and a serene countenance.  I wish I could have spent more time in his presence.

From the learning rooms I am enjoying The Quest for the Holy Grail, of which half must be read by Wednesday.  An easy task since it is such an enjoyable book.  And the husbter is taping a TV movie called The Last Templar which I will enjoy tomorrow evening.

From the kitchen is the delicious smell of fresh honey-oatmeal bread.  I am resisting the temptation to have a warm slice with lots of butter!

I am wearing big baggy white sweat pants, a green turtleneck, a multicolor polartec shirt and my brand new pink micro-plush slippers thanks to DS.

I am creating nothing at the moment, unless bread in the bread machine counts!

I am going to visit with Mother and Dad Wednesday so I can go to her cancer doctor with her.

I am reading “The Quest for the Holy Grail.”

I am hoping that the conversation I had with Bishop Tikhon results in someone taking the Holy Mysteries to my spiritual big brother and that he receives some help and medical attention from the doctor’s visit he had Friday.

I am hearing the humming of electricity providing the warmth to our home, the crackle of logs on the fire, the TV with some x-game snowboarding thing the hubster is watching.

One of my favorite things are warm flannel sheets on a cold winter night!

Around the house are the things I am hearing, and a sense of comfort.  I like being in my house.

A few plans for the rest of the week are to visit Mom and Dad, work, and read.

3 thoughts on “Day book entry for Sunday

  1. What a blessing to have the Bishop visit, and I’m so glad you were able to talk to him about Fr. Seraphim. Hugs to you.

    And, yikes, that’s cold!

Comments are closed.